Nature showing how amazing it can be!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food6 years ago

I recently found this amazing vegetable while visiting my sister in Macau. It has a number of different names depending where you find it - Romanesco broccoli, also Roman cauliflower, Broccolo Romanesco, Romanesque cauliflower or simply Romanesco.


roman-brocolli-header.jpg

Photo taken by me using Xiamei Mi Max Android Phone

This incredible vegetable is a wonderful example of a fractal in nature. Other amazing fractals found in nature are seashells and the best example is the shell of the nautilus.

fractals_nature.jpg.653x0_q80_crop-smart.jpg

A chambered nautilus shell is an example of a fractal found in nature.
(Photo: Jitze Couperus/flickr)

Here are some more photos I took of the Romanesco broccoli.

roman-brocolli.jpg

roman-brocolli-1.jpg

I guess you might be wondering how it tasted. Well I was expecting it to taste like broccoli, but instead it tasted much more like cauliflower, with perhaps a slightly nuttier flavour.

My Sister cooked us a delicious dinner featuring this unusual vegetable, along with cauliflower cheese, roast potatoes, carrots, beans and an absolutely fabulous beef tenderloin. All cooked to perfection!

dinner.jpg

Apologies for the slightly blurred photo

If you see Romanesco broccoli available in your market or supermarket, then I recommend you try it out. It's even more interesting in real life I can assure you.

Thank you for your upvotes and for following me!

Sort:  

Hi my friend, I am from Viet Nam too. I really like your post and upvote. I am a new member and pls follow me and upvote if you like https://steemit.com/@lantracy

Thank you for your comment @lantracy I have been to Saigon twice and really liked it there. I hope to go back again this year. Following you now :-)

I will be in Thailand in 5 weeks. Going to Hua Hin for a break.

Glad to see you back posting, @bangkokbrit. This looks amazing, upvoted and resteemed.

Thank you @inseasia I am going to try to post more often, especially now I've seen how well you are doing!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 14:10:58
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48