Polvoron batch #2

in #food6 years ago (edited)

image

Have you ever wished you could unlearn something?

I never thought I could ever wish for that as I loved to learn new things, but then again there was a point in my life where I didn't think I would ever regret anything yet here we are.

Which brings me to the unlearning.

These polvorons are dangerous. They're an irresistible mix of tasty, so easy to make and "would you look at that, that's all I have in the house anyway...", and tasty... They are tasty AF.

I demolished the first batch and really what was I thinking only making half a cups worth. This time I made a cups worth 😁.

This is me trying to portion control. As it is, I've had about 4 since I started writing this.

I would suggest going with my original recipe here first before increasing quantity because it's easier to adjust a small batch and once you get the idea it'll be easier to transition over to bigger batches.

I edited the original recipe today reducing the amounts of milk powder and sugar whej I realised in making this lot that what I wrote was wrong. Sorry everyone!

This post is an extension of my original polvoron post, including details I missed on my first post.

Polvoron Batch 2

1 cup flour
50g butter
1/2 cup milk powder
1/2 cup white sugar

I did the usual..

Cook the flour til it was brown. This time I used the frying pan instead of the wok. Waited until it was turning brown and I could smell the flour toasting.

image

Sift all the dry ingredients.
You may think by the picture below that it doesn't look like half a cup each of powder and sugar there and you're right. The rest came during the tasting stage.

image

Melt the butter and add it in bit by bit until the mixture begins to keep its shape and hard.

image

Prepare your mold. In my case I'm still using a big tray lined with banking paper with the ice cube tray on top. This is to help contain powder spillage and make it easy to pour it all back into the mix for the next round.

I found it was easier to heap the mixture on top of the tray and then run the back of my spoon down and along the tray to compact the mix in.

image

I did two trays which made 28 cubes of goodness.

Behold.

image

Comments

These are good but they're not as good as the first batch (another reason why I'm saying try the first recipe). There's too much sugar and powder, and after spending that much time toasting the flour you'd wanna taste that flour.

And it's not as solid as the first batch. This one holds its shape but the moment you bite in, it crumbles in your mouth but still the other half of it will hold it's shape until you're ready for the next bite.

Despite all my criticisms I have eaten a tray mostly on my own. So it's definitely edible 😁 and definitely something easy enough to whip up on the fly on the weekend.. 😉😉

Well, that's all for me today. I hope you all have a great weekend!

❤ Arly

Sort:  

It looks like peices of gold and mouth watery recipe

Reminds me of the "eat polvoron and try to whistle" challenge. 😁

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

I also tried to make polvoron few months back... if i refrigerate it keeps its shape, otherwise it would crumble at each bite too. But yeah, they're too nice and got finished in a flash. haha

Ill put mine in the fridge again. I have to back off them cos Im getting fat and my stomach hurts lol

Woooowwww. I love Polvoron!

This:

And this:

Get Upvotes from 350 members!

Join Our Community now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94