Love love love food! And smoothies.

in #food6 years ago

Sometimes I just throw together what sounds good. When it comes to smoothies & cooking, I don't follow any recipe, I just wing it. My creations turn out delicious most of the time, so it works out pretty good for me!

So lately I've done a few food things I thought might be of interest to you.

Note: I don't usually measure anything unless I'm baking. So if you want to make what I share with you, you get to just tailor the proportion of ingredients to your liking & tastes.


One of the many smoothies I've made recently (yes, I prefer thick smoothies that I can eat with a spoon, I totally dig it):

Blueberries, strawberries, spinach, blueberry greek yogurt, coconut water, & vanilla protein powder

So delicious, and gave me a much needed boost for my day! 

Besides using greek yogurt for my smoothies, the way I get 'em thick is by freezing the fruit first (cut up of course, have you ever tried cutting something that's frozen?) or use half & half and don't overblend, blend it just enough that you don't have chunks. Unless you like it chunky, but I like my smoothie to be smooth personally.


Another smoothie I made recently: 


Pineapple, mango, bananas, vanilla bean greek yogurt, coconut water & vanilla protein powder

I know I live in Florida, but sometimes a gal needs something that feels more tropical than the city :) This one turned out super thick, I was super pleased.


I had a hankerin' for banana bread for a hott minute, so I finally got around to baking some, one of my many favorites, although this time I did one loaf regular, and one loaf with dark chocolate chips. 

I like to put butter on a piece, or if I want a more complex party of flavors in my mouth, I slap on some peanut butter, so delish! 

If you'd like to bake this, here's my recipe, which I tweak sometimes based on how I'm feeling. If I want it a little more moist, I just add an extra banana.

  • 2-3 very ripe bananas (like super brown on outside) (peel them obviously)
  • 1/3 cup melted butter (must be real butter, no substitute!)
  • 1  1/2 cups sugar (I like to do a mix of white & brown sugars)
  • 1 egg (beat it obviously)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 1  1/2 cups of all-purpose flour
  • Optional: nuts, chocolate chips,m&ms, etc.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and butter two pans, each about 6x8 inches (whatever's close to that)

In a bowl, mash the bananas with a fork until smooth. Then stir in the melted butter.

Mix in the baking soda & salt. Then stir in the sugar, the beaten egg, and vanilla extract. Then mix in the flour. 

Pour batter into your pans. Bake for about 40-45 minutes total, but check it (and turn the pans) after about 20 min. (For me, with my oven, my bread is usually done after about 30-35 min, so just keep an eye on it and check it with a knife or toothpick to see if inside is cooked completely)

Let it cool, and serve. Or eat a piece while it's still warm, it's delicious either way!

Enjoy :)



My boyfriend baked some chicken, but I decided to reheat it by pulling it then frying it in olive oil and maple syrup, plus my own blend of seasoning since he made it bland. 



I like to add coarse black pepper, Himalayan pink salt, paprika, and italian seasoning

I really enjoyed this, the addition of maple syrup was a nice touch, so glad I had a sweet tooth here!


I love making different items, and I love to discuss different ideas for yum yums, so feel free to share your thoughts! 








Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60