Who Doesn't Love Hot Chocolate? Paired With Cinnamon Apple Rolls Blizzard or Not!

in #food5 years ago

applecinnamonheading.jpg





With the cold weather still trying to hang on I was feeling the cold weather blues. I know some people love hot chocolate, especially when it is cold outside and this was a great day to indulge in that little pleasure.


I am not much into apple pie but I do like some recipes with just a touch of apple. Not quite sure what it is that I don't like about apple pie, I just know it is not one of my favorites. I do love apples and cinnamon rolls so this was a great chance to mix the two into a different kind of treat to go along with my hot chocolate.


applecinnamonclose1.jpg


I wasn't really sure how it was going to turn out but I figured what the heck let's give it a shot and see how it turns out.

Unfortunately, I didn't have all of the ingredients to make homemade cinnamon rolls so I bundled up with thermal wear and four layers of clothing with 3 pairs of socks. I put my coat, hat, boots, and gloves on and headed out to my car. The wind was blowing so hard my face was frozen by the time I reached my car.


blizzard.jpg

Photo Courtesy of Pixabay


I made it to my car and I guess it was colder than I thought because I could not open my drivers' door. No problem, I will try the passenger door. Nope, no luck there either so I tried the rear passenger door. Well of course not, why would I think it would open. haha. My last try was the drivers' rear door. Ahaa it opened, ok I was in the backseat at last.

Keep in mind I was not climbing into a large vehicle, it was a compact. I may have not been thinking very well when I piled on all the clothing because this made it very difficult to climb over the center console and into the drivers' seat. I thought I would warm up the car and once I was in the drivers' seat I could push on the door to get it open.


wintercar.jpg

Photo Courtesy of Pixabay



Wow, did I think wrong. The door would not budge no matter what. I thought if I can get to the store it should be thawed out by then and I could open it. By this time I am finally done wrestling around trying to get into the seat so I put the key in the ignition to start the car. Can you guess what happened next? Yep, you guessed right, my car wouldn't start. Not even a small little sputter or motor sound.


snow.jpg

Photo Courtesy of Pixabay



So I climb back over the seat and get out of my drivers' side rear door. I was so cold at that point that I was not going to stand outside any longer. The wind was blowing so hard I could barely see through the snow wall that it was creating.

applecinnamon7.jpg


I thought man am I really going to enjoy that hot chocolate now.

Since I couldn't make it to the store I just improvised and used the ready to bake cinnamon rolls from Pillsbury that I already had.

applecinnamon4.jpg





Apple Cinnamon Roll Ingredients:

4 Fresh apples- peeled and sliced
8 Cinnamon rolls- homemade or ready to bake with frosting
Ground cinnamon- for topping
Carmel sauce- for topping
Vanilla sauce- for topping

Hot chocolate ingredients:

4 cups of Milk (adjust for the number of cups you will be serving)
1 1/2 cups of Milk chocolate or semisweet chocolate (chips or brick) I used chips- melted (adjust for the number of cups you will be serving)
Mini marshmallows- for topping

Cinnamon Apple Rolls:

  1. Prepare your cinnamon rolls by rolling them out
  2. Slice your apples and lay them evenly across your cinnamon rolls
  3. Roll your cinnamon rolls into a roll
  4. Bake at 300 degrees until done (adjust according to your oven, mine runs a little high)
  5. Remove cinnamon rolls from the oven
  6. Spread frosting on top of your cinnamon rolls
  7. Top with caramel sauce, vanilla sauce, and cinnamon


    applecinnamon1.jpg


Hot Chocolate:

  1. Melt the chocolate chips or brick (20 seconds at a time, stirring in between-DO NOT OVERHEAT-It will burn)
  2. Heat the milk in a medium saucepan to the desired temperature
  3. Add the melted chocolate and stir until smooth and creamy
  4. Top with mini marshmallows
    Pair with baked apple slices (I baked some with cinnamon while the cinnamon rolls were baking) topped with cinnamon, caramel sauce, and marshmallows
    And of course your homemade hot chocolate with mini marshmallows


applecinnamonclose2.jpg



Happy Cooking and Bundle Up :)

logo.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by firstohit from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi, @beccadeals!

You just got a 0.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68853.42
ETH 3708.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65