Trending Here I Come!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Ok OK, maybe not 🤩.

Several months back a corn post made it to trending and received the shitpost of the day award by another Steemian. There was nothing special about the corn but the post did get me craving corn. So I went corn searching.

Growing up in the blended culture of Southern Cali meant exposure to different food types. A fond memory was of the corn cart making its way to our neighborhood with freshly steamed corn. For one dollar, I bought myself one of the delectable Mexican street corn treat called ‘Elote’. One dollar was a lot back in my childhood. That was my chore money earned from washing the car. If I was lucky, I found just enough coins underneath the sofa cushions. If short on funds, we could also buy half a corn for 50 cents. I love the elote corn! One of the things I miss about Cali.

My 50 cents half looked like this, minus the decorative cilantro

mexican-1804849_1280.jpg

Corn cart in all its glory

elote_cart.jpg

corn border.JPG

Now that I had corn on my mind from the post, of course I would start seeing corn everywhere thereafter. Darn you Steemit!

Corn at the park

DSC_4958.jpg

Corn on the grill

DSC_4961.jpg

Even corn candy!

IMG-5807.jpg

I bought fresh corn and one night decided I must have some of that corn luvin. Elote corn is made with a ton of ingredients. It is typically coated with mayonnaise or crema fresca and dusted with parmesan cheese, chile powder, and lime juice. My refrigerator only had mayonnaise and parmesan cheese and I didn't feel like going shopping.

Short on ingredients

co3.jpg

Poor man’s version of the Elote corn! Ignore the calories 😫

co5.jpg

I know what you're thinking. All that fattening calories! It is just worth it for some food and the Elote corn is definitely worth it for me. Let's see if my next biometric test agrees.

beeyou copy-paula.final.jpg

Images 1, 2, 3, all others original

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87