Good morning! I'm having Akara and Ogi for Breakfast :)

in #food6 years ago

I woke up really hungry this morning. I have been laying down and chatting since I woke up and the thought off akara just came. It's been a while now. So this morning, I'll be taking my time to make my own akara to go down with Ogi. I'll be slaying in my kitchen today 😉. I wouldn't want you to be left out, so I'll share my akara and Ogi recipe with you. OK, if you aren't from my part of the world, you'll be wondering what 'Akara' is. Akara or bean cake or bean fritas is a Nigerian 'breakfast' and sometimes dinner made with beans(peeled).

Source

This doesn't mean you can't have it done with the coat of the beans still intact but the results would be different from the one peeled. To make Akara you'll need;

• 1 cup of beans (black or brown eyed)

• Pepper and onions

• Salt to taste

• Vegetable oil for frying

Source

  1. Remove the beans coat by washing it in water. Do not allow salt come in contact with your beans before frying it as it is believed to destroy the leavening agent of beans. Now you know why your first akara did not stick together, lol.

  2. Soak the beans in water for 2 hours if you are going to be using your blender at home but if you are going to be using the heavy duty blenders like the ones you find in our 'Nigerian' markerts, there's no need for that then blend

  3. Chop your onions and peppers in desirable sizes

  4. Put your vegetable oil in a very good frying pan. Let your vegetable oil be at least 3 inches deep.

  5. Pour your blended beans in a bowl and get a turning stick and stir until the mixture is smooth. Add water if need be to get the texture you desire. Stirring should be done in circular motion and when done add your pepper and onion. Salt should be added last before you scoop and put the paste in oil.

  6. Make sure the vegetable oil is hot enough before putting the beans paste into the oil. Add salt to taste and pour the beans into the oil. Use a small spoon when frying. You can put the spoon into the oil to prevent splattering when putting your beans inside the oil.

  7. Fry the underside till it is brown and then flip flop so the other side can equally be done.

  8. When the akara balls are all brown, remove and place in a paper to cool down and remove excess oil.

And.......

Serve with Ogi, Custard or any cereal of your choice or Fresh oven bread especially "Agege" Bread 😉, lol. Breakfast is served!

Source

Remember...

Do not add salt until you are ready to fry.

Use freshly peeled beans to get that awesome taste.

Stir in a circular motion before frying and stir well.

What are you having for breakfast? 😃

(Sorry I couldn't post original pictures, I've not started yet... 😂)

Sort:  

Flexing galore, send akara to my location

Sending...... 😉

Waking up to see your post just saved me the thought of 'wetin person go chop ds morning sef?' Akara and pap na im sure pass. Thanks for the idea. Make I go check weda d woman don open shop sef...sh*t! I've to brush first.

Hehe... Na im sure pass oh.. 😉

You can gain more attention to your post, Just make it a little bit more attractive. Here is how can you do this !
https://steemit.com/steemit/@teamnepal/7-ways-make-your-post-get-real-attention

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66996.44
ETH 3098.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72