Prickly Pear

in #food5 years ago

Getting ready to get rid of the cacti out of the yard. Mostly because the daughter is starting to crawl, and she will get into everything. So I decided to try and make a jelly out of the prickly pear ones. 20181201_112550.jpg

Definitely a little more work than I expected, and then I realized I needed a thickening agent, which of course I do not have at the moment. So I got it pureed and strained, that is where I am at.

Sort:  

Starting to look like a fommy...

what is a fommy, and does it take one to know one?

Father Mommy = Fommy

And yes, yes it does.

Ah.... so I see

Thickening: if you have lemons, peel one after scraping the outer skin off and peel the pith, in strips, (the white matter) and put that in your jam or jelly. Remove it once it has finished cooking.

The fruit also makes a great chutney - if you like spicy, then add some cayene pepper or chili (to taste) Great thing about chutney is that you do not only eat it with curry and rice - it goes beautifully with all kinds of dishes. Only problem is - you would then have to plant more cacti...

That is a good tip.

I am going to try your lemon tip tonight.

Probably a good call getting the spiky plant out of the yard when your daughter is getting to the stage where she could impale herself on it. Good luck on the jelly. Maybe you just need some pectin.

Ya, I got a bunch in my hands harvesting them.

Also my hands were red for days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94