Healthy Eating DIY | The Birds have Gone Coco-Nuts!

in #food5 years ago

DSC_0063 (2).jpg

Coconuts!


Living in a tropical climate we have lots of Coconut Palm trees. Typically the coconuts fall from the trees and decay along the roadside. Such a waste! I’ve never harvested a coconut, have you?

@mountainjewel to the rescue! Let’s harvest Coconuts!


They were so excited to have access to as many coconuts as they wished. Since I didn’t know how to harvest them, I haven’t been taking advantage of all of that free Coconut fruit and Coconut water! Ini was like a squirrel climbing those Palms. He knew which were ripe and I was eager to learn!


todaysjourney.jpg

Coconuts, Coconuts and More!


This is what we started with! We found several Coconut Palms right next to our mailbox. Ini reached up into the tree and tossed them to me. These large green coconuts are full of refreshing coconut water. Did you know it takes a year for a coconut to mature? These coconuts were quite heavy! Shake them and listen to the coconut water swishing around inside.

DSC_0160 (2).jpg

  • We chopped the top off of the coconuts to reveal a small plugged hole in the top of the coconut. Hmmm who would have known?

coconut.jpg

  • Remove the plug and pour out the refreshing coconut water! It was so sweet, nothing like the coconut water you buy at the store!
    DSC_0169 (2).jpg
  • Now we chopped the coconuts in half to reveal the wonderful white coconut meat! If we had waited until the coconuts turned brown we would have thicker coconut meat! The water wouldn’t have been as tasty though!
    DSC_0173 (2).jpg
  • We removed all of the flesh, isn’t it beautiful? Coconut meat is high in fiber, full of potassium! Really good for you!
    DSC_0017 (2).jpg

Now we process! You can blend the meat and have coconut cream, use the meat in your favorite smoothie or juice or…..shred it and dehydrate! It is so easy! We threw some in our morning juice and dehydrated the rest for later!

DSC_0025 (2).jpg


I sprinkled the shredded coconut on my dehydrator trays making sure it’s a thin layer. Dehydrate at 135 degrees for about 4 hours, check to see if it is totally dry, and fluffy! If not dehydrate a little longer until fluffy and dry.


DSC_0028 (2).jpg


Isn’t this beautiful? I poured all of the dried coconut into a sealed bag and placed it in the fridge for a week. This allows the coconut flavors to settle a bit, get richer! After one week in the fridge, store in your pantry in an airtight container.


DSC_0006 (2).jpg


This was so fun! Quite an adventure, harvesting local fruits out your front door! Nice! Now that @mountainjewel is gone, Mr. Bird knows he’ll be climbing for future Coconuts! I’ll never buy another

Stay tuned, I’ve waited a week now, the coconut is ready! I’ll be sharing this coco-nutty-ness soon!


DSC_0086 (2).jpg

Thanks for stopping in my friends!
And as always, blessings to you all!
loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

ohhh that looks fabulous!! How lucky you are that you get fresh coconut just outside - I'd drink that stuff like crazy, haha

We're thinking of getting a dehydrator in the next little while, and oh man you've inspired me. We'll have to get our hands on one of these babies.

I love these young coconuts. You don't see them often in the UK, but when I was in the Philippines they are everywhere.

I was glad to learn how to process coconuts. I loved it, you know how tasty they are :) So glad you stopped in!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 305 (11/07/18)

Thank you @thesteemengine! I really value your support and community :)

That's a lot of work but really worthwhile, look forward to seeing what you're going to make with this my friend! Coconut is my absolute favourite ingredient for baking!

I was surprised how easy this was. My son-in-law loves coconuts so he couldn't get enough of these. I think I got about 4 cups of dried coconut! So fun! Thanks my friend :)

This looks beautiful and delicious, I like the coconut everything that comes with it, even the perfume with the smell of coconut
There is a drink that my country called cocada is made with coconut, milk and milk condesanda are very good

oh, that drink sounds wonderful. Nothing like the smell of coconut baking in the kitchen, right? So glad to see you stopped by! Thanks so much @yesslife :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by birdsinparadise from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00