Healthy Eating! | Avocado Cookies? Yes, and Chocolate Too!

in #food6 years ago

IMG_8571 (2).JPG

Happy Thursday my Steemian Friends!


We've almost made it through the week, I think that means we deserve a healthy sweet treat! Think of it as kind of a reward!


As many of you know I just returned from a visit to my daughter’s home. Had a wonderful visit with lots of baby time, such a peaceful baby.


While there I tried to make as many healthy and special treats to leave behind. I would love to share a wonderful cookie recipe which we made while I was visiting.


These cookies are:

  • Diary free
  • Gluten free
  • Vegan
  • No refined sugars

These cookies are made with Avocados! Avocados are so good for you! Did you realize each avocado contains over 20 vitamins in each serving? Packed with potassium for controlling blood pressure, they're low in sugar and high in the "good fats" which help lower bad cholesterol!

Sounds healthy right?

And they were unbelievable!! I promise, you have to try these!

todaysjourney.jpg

Healthy Chocolate Avocado Gems

Ingredients

  • 1 Avocado
  • 1 1/8 cup Gluten free Oats
  • 1/2 cup Nut butter
  • 1 Chia Egg
  • 1/4 cup Raw Cocoa Powder
  • 1/4 cup Organic Maple Syrup or Raw Agave
  • 1/3 cup Dairy Free Sugar Free Chocolate Chips!

IMG_8562 (2).JPG

  • Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

  • Process the Avocado, and Maple Syrup or Agave until well smooth using your favorite food processor. Add the nut butter and Chia Egg and process until completely combined.

IMG_8563 (2).JPG

  • Add the Cocoa Powder and Oats, stir again! You’re almost there!!!
    IMG_8566 (2).JPG
  • Now stir in the chocolate chips! This is when it gets really dangerous, go ahead, try a taste!
    IMG_8567 (2).JPG
  • Drop by spoon onto a parchment lined baking sheet. It was tough, we just wanted to eat it from the bowl, but my daughter said no way! Use the back of your spoon to kind of flatten them a bit!
    IMG_8569 (2).JPG
  • Bake for 12-15 minutes. Make sure they’re set, you don’t want a gooey center, right?

Now go for it! They are Amazing! I promise you’ll be so happy you made these.

IMG_8572 (2).JPG

By the way...when I left, there were only a few cookies remaining! Oh well, I tried!

I hope you’ll try them and let me know what you think! Thanks for stopping by today! Remember, tomorrow is Friday!!!!

And as always, blessings to you all!

loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

Sort:  

Oh my, I just got here in time to save this post for my next goodie. Thank you so much. We need to use the oats we have for this and wow, another use for avocado. Not just guacamole :)

Wonderful! I hope you'll try them, very tasty and best of all healthy!! I use avocados in a lot of recipes, adds such a creamy texture ....and healthy nutrients :) Thanks for stopping by

FOR TSE: I love avocados. Srsly I do. But I just can't get behind the idea of them in cookies. (Or that godawful-sounding vegan "chocolate pudding" made with avocados I see around from time to time.)

Some things just weren't meant to be. Love you anyway.

Its okay @enchanatedspirit, I totally understand! I am not offended :) I would have never thought of trying avocados in the dishes I make but once I did I was shocked (in a good way, lol) I think the combination of green...and guacamole comes to mind! Scary, yes!

FOR TSE: Intellectually I can say this makes sense. Avocados are basically a natural fat -- so it would substitute for shortening. But avocados do have their own unique flavor. Can't you taste that in the cookies? C'mon now, be honest.

lol, being totally honest, the cocoa and chocolate chips are all you taste! A hint of oats but really honestly, no avocado. That is the amazing part about using avocado in recipes. I also use them in smoothies too....they are totally masked by the fruits and veggies you put in the smoothie! Just try it, perhaps half of an avocado :) I really think you'll be surprised. Let me know if you do okay? Otherwise we'll agree with guac, on toast, sliced like an apple, I am totally with you on that!!!! Its a great fruit!

Mmmm, chocolate.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

I love this! Both your comment and your character here :) Thank you doctor!! Appreciate the endorsement!

If I hated them (the cookies) I'd be mad at myself for ruining perfectly good avocados on something I was iffy about from the start. Avocado toast, you bet! Guacamole ... bring it on. ABLT's? Oh, yum!! Even sliced and eaten the way you would an apple works fine. But cookies? (Oh, wait a minute!!!)

Oh my word these are to die for, they certainly would not last in my home, plus the bonus, they're much healthier than any of my cookies! Definitely trying these @birdsinparadise!

I think you might like them @lizelle. Not too sweet, no refined sugars and well, of course chocolate :) Thank you for stopping by my friend!

Mmmm, chocolate.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

I'm not sure they would even make it into the oven. I might find myself eating the mixture!

Seriously creamy, and of course you have to test taste right? Major chocolate love! :) Thanks for stopping by @natubat!

Mmmm, chocolate.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

FOR TSE: Sometimes (ok, lots of times!!) the only reason I "make cookies" is so I can eat the dough. (Ask @catweasel.) I like the dough better than cookies in the first place.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 251 (9/08/18)

Thank you @thesteemengine! I am so thankful to be shared in the Daily Whistle Stop!

Avocado and chocolate chips cookies? That's like two of my favorite things combined to make one of my favorite treats- chocolate chips cookies (well, a "healthified" version of it). I would love to taste that, it looks that it will be really delicious..

The chia "eggs" are they made from chia seeds?

They're pretty dangerous I'll just tell you lol And yes, chia eggs are made with chia seeds. 1 tablespoon seeds with 3 tablespoons water. Let it sit for about 10 minutes and then use as an egg. It's great!! Thanks for stopping by!

Dangerous? Hahahah! Well, the good kinda dangerous! Someone will look at it and won't even think that it was made with avocado, the green color is now all chocolaty...

Oh, yeah! It will give the egg like effect... My pleasure!

I still have some bars left, but these might have to be next... 😋

I hope you'll try them! btw I made another energy bite for my daughters birthday care package...I think you'll like these too. Stay tuned! :)

Ooh, I am sure I will. ;) I got a delicious blueberry oat cookie from the plant-based food stand at the farmers market this morning that I am definitely going to have to try to recreate now, too. So many foods to try! Good thing I run and workout enough to have a very healthy appetite, haha!

yummy yummy now i want some :-)

Not only do they look delicious, they are also healthy ,because of the acocados. So much better then to buy some "ready-ones" in a grocery store... here you know exactly the ingredients. perfect

Thanks for the step by step guide, now i will be able to make some by myself :-)

So easy to make, I know you 'll love them! Just don't eat them all at once lol, although that is tough. I don't know when I last bought a cookie, no need! and you're right, these are much healthier, no preservatives or additives :)

These look great! I would eat the whole batch 😀

Yes, as I said there weren't many left when I came home lol Really rich and so tasty,,Thanks for stopping in!

Hey @birdsinparadise, thank you for such interesting recipe, I never heard that you could use avocado in your cockies, but that sounds really delicious, I love your explanation adn it is great that submitted the pictures after each steps. You know sometimes when I cook using recipes, and I look at my result and the result that it should be in the book, I am not sure if everything was right. With your guidance it is easy to track the steps. Nice appetizing recipe for visit of the friends of my son,

Cheers, from Art-supporting blog @art-venture
zksf2hr03x.jpg

Thank you @art-venture! Truly delicious, the avocado makes it very creamy and delicious. I hope you'll try them with your friends! Wonderful, especially if you are a chocolate lover ;)

Love chocolates, my replacement for chocolates when I want some snack in teh evening is hot chocolate, but your recipe could be a delicious option :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97