Healthy Eating | Friday Night with the Birds! Spicy Carne Picada Tacos

in #food5 years ago (edited)

DSC_0103 (2).jpg

Do you love Tacos?


Well, if you do, you’ll be glad you stopped by the Bird’s nest! I love tacos and especially when they're made using fresh ingredients!


Tonight's the night for Tacos! Spicy Tacos my friends!


Carne Picada, what is that you may ask? In Spanish the word carne means meat and Picada means chopped, so when I make taco’s using meat this is what I look for. Usually the meat is very thinly sliced, not ground, organic and free range. I love making this and letting it cook on low in my slow cooker, the rich smell permeates the Bird’s nest.


todaysjourney.jpg


Friday Night Spicy Carne Picada Tacos!


I used

  • Carne Picada
  • Gluten Free Flour (3 tbsp)
  • Chili Powder (1 tbsp)
  • Sea Salt (1 tsp)
  • Black Pepper (1/2 tsp)
  • Cumin (1/2 tsp)
  • Cayenne Pepper (1/4 tsp)
  • Diced Fresh tomatoes (2 1/2 cups)
  • Avocado (qty 1)
  • Cilantro (1 tbsp chopped)
  • Fresh Garlic (2 cloves minced)
  • Dash of Lime Juice
  • Onion (1/2 chopped)
  • Sriracha Sauce (of course!)
  • Fresh Corn Shells
  • For Garnish: Fresh Spinach, Black Olives, and your favorite cheese!

Saute the Carne Picada in 1 tbsp of Extra Virgin Olive Oil. While the meat is cooking, mix all of the spices together in a small bowl.


DSC_0028 (2).jpg


Combine the chopped tomatoes, cooked carne and spices in your favorite slow cooker. Cook on high for at least a couple of hours or on low while you’re away for the day! When you come home, your house will smell wonderful!


DSC_0033 (2).jpg


About 30 minutes before dinner, chop the avocado, mash and combine with chopped tomatoes, chopped cilantro, a dash of lime juice and the minced garlic. Throw in a dash of Cumin and salt and pepper. Be sure to give it the taste-test!


DSC_0055 (2).jpg


Don’t you just love that fresh guacamole?


DSC_0039 (2).jpg


Don’t forget to toast up your shells! I’m using fresh shells for our taco’s tonight…I’ll share more about how to make those later! Stay tuned! Stuff those shells, layer with fresh spinach, sprinkle with sliced olives and a dash of your favorite cheese!


DSC_0051 (2).jpg

Time for Tacos! Don’t forget the hot sauce!


DSC_0088 (2).jpg


Nothing like fun spicy taco meal after a tough week! Put your feet up! Come on, grab a taco!


DSC_0077 (3).jpg


Thanks for stopping by the Birds nest tonight!
And as always, blessings to you all!

loveyourself.jpg


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Oh my but you're making the most divine food my Birdy friend, wish I could have some right now!

hehe, Glad you enjoyed...I wish I could send some your way! (Although with the incredible food you prepare.....:) ) Have a wonderful weekend, glad to hear your electricity has been restored, whew!

Good luck in Round 19 of
Food Fight Friday
May your contender survive and not be placed in a permanent food coma.
125BBBF8-726F-41EA-BB39-4F1622EE09F8.gif

Woo, hoo! I guess that is a true hazard of the kitchen elf! Thanks so much!

Oh my God, you’re speaking to my soul sister! These tacos are making me salivate and I just finished dinner. That guacamole too, I must have it in my life ASAP. Haha… you are always teasing my taste buds @birdsinparadise- keep it up, we like it!

You should think about entering this in @foodfightfriday. We post anything food related on Friday and tag it #fff. That’s about it, plus the group is really fun. Anyway, think about it. You’d fit in perfectly :)

I think I will! Anything you're doing has to be amazing my friend! You're the greatest, thank you! I'm so glad you liked these(even though you're vegan...I apologize for the carne... haven't tried this with tempeh yet) So I just need to add the fff tag? How fun!!

01124D25-4A1E-4CB4-8ADF-F7A01D3C42FE.jpeg

Oh NO offense ever @birdsinparadise. Dandays and I eat fresh fish, shrimp, scallops and whatever else our friends catch. You just keep rockin on with your bad self 😉. The food fight fam will be stoked to have you :) just add the tag and you’re in my friend.

oh my goodness....that looks amazing :) Good to know my friend! I definitely feel better , lol

looks good! esp that fresh guac

I know...don't you love guac? I could eat it with a spoon....not that I have or anything! ;) So glad you stopped by tonight! Thanks so much!

i almost could go for it straight !... better with chips though 😂

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 327 (12/01/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63626.14
ETH 3107.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87