Healthy Eats | Have Leftovers? Easy Cheesy Pinwheel Mixers

in #food5 years ago

DSC_0039 (2).jpg

Loaded with leftovers?


As you know I cook a lot at the Bird nest. When we aren’t having family or guest we tend to have quite a few leftovers in the fridge. Mr. Bird is a true champ when it comes to eating my “kitchen experiments” and leftovers but we seem to have these little bits of this and that in tiny bowls and packages.


What do you do?


Well my friends, today I tried something new! This dish is so versatile; as an appetizer for guests or as a side for your family dinner!


What? Yes, I’ll share!


My leftovers

  • Bird's Walnut Pesto
  • Pepperoni
  • Black Forest Ham
  • Mozzarella Cheese (1 1/2 cup Shredded)
  • Pesto Cheese (3/4 cup)
  • Fresh Parmesan Cheese (1/4 cup)

Pantry Staples

  • Egg (qty 1)
  • Almond Flour (1/4 cup)
  • Coconut Flour (1/4 cup)
  • Onion Powder (1 tsp)
  • Garlic Powder (1 tsp)
  • Organic Butter (1/4 cup)
  • Cream Cheese (2 tbsp.)

We’re really enjoying this new grain free pastry, we just don’t feel the stuffy “oh I ate too much” feeling after dinner. There are several combinations, feel free to check out my Quatro Formaggi Pizza post for another grain free option To make these pinwheels I combined the mozzarella, cream cheese and butter in a bowl. Microwave for about 1 minute and stir. If it’s not melted microwave another 30 seconds. Now add the Almond and Coconut flour and spices, stir well.


DSC_0005 (2).jpg


Now press or roll the dough out on parchment paper. I’ll just mention, it was a bit sticky so wet your fingers a bit. This is where the fun begins! Since I had a little bit of this and that I decided to make each half of the pinwheel roll with different ingredients! How fun is that! If you’re like me I have a tendency to put add too many ingredients… Pesto, pepperoni and mozzarella cheese on one end. Ham and pesto cheese on the other. Sprinkle a bit of Parmesan over all.

DSC_0008 (2).jpg


Carefully, really carefully roll the dough into a nice roll. This is where the trouble starts if you use add too much!

DSC_0012 (2).jpg

Slice 1” pinwheels and place them in your handy muffin tin. I thought I had a real mess on my hands at first but I stuck with it. They didn’t look very pinwheel-y, but you know it’s all about experimenting!

DSC_0017 (2).jpg

Into the oven at 375 degrees for about 25 minutes. They’ll start to brown up nicely just the way you want! Oh, and to add a little extra pop to the ham and cheese pinwheels I mixed together a little Dijon Mustard, melted butter and Worcestershire sauce together and drizzled over the pinwheels during the last 5 minutes in the oven.

DSC_0020 (2).jpg

Cheers my friends! Grab those leftovers and enjoy!


DSC_0032 (2).jpg

They may not be pretty, but they were rich and tasty!


DSC_0044 (2).jpg


The combinations are endless. Double the recipe and make enough for several meals during the week. Great for breakfast, lunch or dinner! We loved these, they’ll be a regular in the Bird nest! Let me know if you try them, I would love to hear your favorite combo!


And as always, blessings to you all


loveyourself.jpg


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Wow! Those look just great! And Keto friendly! I might turn the weekly pizza into pinwheels this week. Maybe even Taco pinwheels (I'm cooking taco meat right now.

What a cool idea! Thank you.

Our birdy friend is giving lots of Keto friendly recipes, this looks great!

Turning left overs into such tasty looking treats your magic in the kitchen is amazing !tip

🎁 Hi @birdsinparadise! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Shadow Photo Contest Round 59 Architectural-Shadows Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

They look pretty damn good to me. I’m really enjoying cooking with coconut flour. It changes the consistency a lot but I find it a good challenge. Tonight I’m experimenting with cauliflower/coconut flour falafels… hopefully it turns out okay. If I ever eat cheese again your pizzas and pinwheels are first on my eating list.

And yet another Keto friendly dish, thank you my friend! This looks delicious and all from leftovers!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 420 (03/06/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95