Mid-Week Musings: Ramen - Should I Stop?

in #food6 years ago

This is my lunch today:

A9235BF8-4494-433A-8B55-41FDE5C004DF.png

I tend to eat Ramen noodles for lunch a couple of times a week when I do not have leftovers or I have not prepared a lunch for myself. I enjoy the taste, and I usually add some Tapatio hot sauce to the Ramen to make it extra spicy. My mouth is watering just thinking about it. You also can’t beat a $0.33 lunch cost (sometimes even cheaper).

I have some co-workers who have given me a hard time recently about eating Ramen noodles so often, as they claim they are very unhealthy. I usually brush off their concerns and tell them they don’t know what they are talking about.

However, I started poking around and researched the healthiness (or lack thereof) of Ramen (processed, not freshly made) and here are some of the health findings:

  • They contain Tertiary-Butyl Hydroquinone which is a gas industry byproduct that isn’t recommended for your body

  • They are very high in salt

  • They have a high caloric value

  • They contain a high amount of saturated fat

  • They are considered a hormone disrupter

  • There is research showing the Styrofoam cups Ramen comes in contain chemicals that can cause cancer

Wow. I also couldn’t really find any articles rebuffing these concerns or touting any health benefits to processed Ramen.

So I find myself at impasse – Should I stop eating my good tasting and cheap Ramen lunches or should I go cold turkey and cut if off? Well, today I am going to eat my Ramen lunch, but perhaps I will rethink this lunch strategy going forward!

What are your thoughts on this dilemma? Does the potential cost outweigh the benefit?

Brian

Sort:  

Ultimately, you should quit entirely. But at the very least, try to wean yourself off this habit from 2-3 times down to 1-2. Then eventually, just don't do it. It really is garbage food. I know you're busy with your family but if you can meal prep on a Sunday you could knock out lunches for 3-4 days. Healthy food can still taste good too, especially adding things like hot sauce and seasonings. Your body will thank you!

Yeah! Little by little, doing the withdrawal of the powerful drug that is ramen noodles!

I agree with your coworkers ! I don't know if your job gives you health insurance or not, but not getting sick is waaaaay cheaper than "saving" money on unhealthy cheap food.

And beyond being "sick" eating better food gives you so much more energy, and creates a better mood. I think that if you weigh the opportunity cost of not eating healthy against the financial savings incurred by eating ramen, you will conclude that you miss out on things far more valuable than money by eating bad food.

Also if you need other cheap options, there are so many food bloggers here to follow, but I personally love lentils, chickpeas, and tofu dishes for cheap meals. These things can easily come in at under $1 per serving, and pack a lot more nutrition. You can cook them in a crock pot over night, and its really easy.

To your health!!

Great thoughts and ideas... thank you for the input!

It's like saving money by doing an open-heart surgery at home hiring your barber for $10.

Meaning... not very smart.

Yeah... He may "save" thousands of dollars by eating ramen, but then he will have to pay thousands when he has a heart attack! Or gets cancer.... I really hope he stops eating the ramen... Or at least adds some fresh veggies to it....

Stop eating that! We do need you here for a long time !!!

It depends on what you put in your soup, substitute the msg seasoning for sriracha and they are even better!

Interesting findings of the matter. I think it's not healthy to eat either but if you eat healthy in general, you can eat it sometimes without problems I guess.

I like to eat this as well! But I limit to once a month or so.

It's like this they are not so healthy they are used to get out of trouble but if I usually eat healthy I think it would not affect you @brian.rrr

I am new to your blog, I liked it and on the subject I think that as long as you do not abuse you can eat the noodles besides they are economical

Top Ramen is less than 200 calories per cup im not sure who consider that high calorie unless you were on a serious diet. Though the straifoam concern is legitimate I wouldn't worry about unless you are pounding these things for lunch and dinner everyday .

Just at least refrain from eating that, at least twice a month.

I had the opportunity to eat one Ramen Soup and OMG that was soooo delicious but as always my mom said " Ramen is unhealthy " ............

Anyway I just ate it because I was curious and If I had the opportunity i will eat it again... :D

Just enjoy it whenever you want :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76