FYSER - Episode 02: Hereford Vienna Sausage

in #food6 years ago

Vienna1.jpg

For the past hundred and fifteen years or so, Vienna Sausage has been enjoyed in North America. I'm going to attempt to figure out why.

Good Evening, morning, or afternoon Steemit residents.

I gave a bit of background before my first post for the explaining of Food You Shouldn't Eat Review and you can just click on those to get that, and I'll save you the trouble of listening to me babble about FAR too many things today.

Today's review for Food You Shouldn't Eat is for the HEREFORD VIENNA SAUSAGE. I first spotted these beauties on the lower shelf on the local grocery store, and it made me wonder "who the heck eats sausage from a can?" Well today, we do.



A quick mention to my garnishes and special guest today! A white lily from a place I call the back yard, some runner bean flowers, and some green tiny tim tomatoes that the almost tornado today took off - and our special guest: Old Engine Oil beer, who we'll get to later!


Best Before Date: January 01, 2021

Vienna2.jpgVienna3.jpgVienna4.jpg

The Vienna Sausage was originally a beef/pork smoked sausage combo. These ones are made from mechanically separated chicken.. ... ..-
Vienna5.jpg

From a nutritional/cost/prepper storage standpoint, it's got a couple things going for it. A serving size on the package (what I make myself eat of each FYSEReview) is three sausages, or half of the package. This means that you're scoring TEN grams of protein in a full can of these canned hotdogs. I bought this can for seventy-seven Canadian cents. The can is compact, so if not for bugging out, maybe sneaking it into a movie theater? Jeeze, I dunno. But hey, because of it's three year best before date, this could be gold after six year of hard times.

The smell wasn't pleasant opening the can, basically like good canned cat food.

Vienna7.jpg

The texture was, yes, like wet hot dogs basically. Though I can't say that I'm really planning on purchasing this for my own needs again, I CAN say that I feel it's a much more palatable option for a survival food than the Puritan Irish Stew from last week. Also, this post has already got me two dedicated followers:

Vienna6.jpg

That's my second review! If there's something else you'd like for me to cover in these reviews, just say so and I'll take it into consideration! As always I long for your interaction. Tell me the post was crap, tell me it changed your life... Just tell me you're more real than that "mechanically separated chicken" and I'll be thrilled.

If you've got a brand or product that you'd like to see a FYSER on, just say so in the comments!

Thanks for the read.

Sort:  

There is nothing better in this world then food haha

Hmm, smells like cat food. Can't decide which is worse, dog food or cat food. You're right, though, just from the pictures, I wouldn't be surviving on Puritan Irish Stew. I don't usually have any of this kind of food, although yesterday I did buy some frankfurters (it's my guilty secret).
Do you get Princes Reduced Salt Corned Beef? How about a review of that? I can't decide whether I like it or not.
This was a beautifully dressed can of sausage.
Here's a lily from my backyard:
IMG_1492.JPG
How was the beer?

We typically eat very well I like to think, this experiment of mine is quite abnormal for me, and perhaps makes me a little more prone to judge the stuff poorly? I'll try not to though for sure. Your lily are very nice - there's a lot of them to have bloomed at the same time! The provincial flower of where I am from is the Tiger Lily, just one of the reasons that lilies are and will always be my fav :)
I have seen corned beef from other companies than Princes, that are also from Brazil. I will put this on my list, and then decide if I aught to do the double smoked canned herring, or the corned beef next! I checked, and it doesn't seem that Princes is available here - there's even a reddit forum or whatever about it.
The beer was super enjoyable, and on my list of keepers. I suspected a USA stamp on the back really.. Vienna8.jpg
The flavor made this label make much more sense. I had intentions of doing my review for it last night, but ran out of time! I will get to it soon :)
I say frankfurters are far superior the the hot dog. Any of them touched by fire can be great as far as I'm concerned.

and I'm not sure the herring really suits what I'm trying to do here, as I typically have some sort of pickled herring available at all times...?

I think you should think poorly of it, it's rubbish food, although any of us might be glad of it in a survival situation or to supplement game etc. Unfortunately, too many people, for one reason or another, are eating this stuff routinely.
I eat hardly any processed food and I'm in two minds about the corned beef. I'm not sure I even like the taste of it! But as meat goes, it is inexpensive and lasts well.
That beer looks like a UK import? You could enter the review in #beersaturday?
I love lillies, I did start a collection in my previous place, but I'm waiting to see where I settle before I take that up again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65