Why Have I Not Been Told: Eating well and less calories absorbed

in #food6 years ago

I am no athlete and I love food. This is one of the main reasons some people see me as chubby not slim and I have been looking for ways to upkeep my love for food without gaining any more extra pounds.
The way I have not been told about is eating raw food. I have heard of raw food and the typical raw food I eat is raw carrots and tomatoes, but that's almost as far as I go as I even eat most my tomatoes as ketchup.

Strawberry_cheesecake_round.jpg
By Josefine Linnea Jonsson (Own work) [CC BY-SA 4.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

Raw food energy absorption

I have eaten some raw cakes and though I'm not a big fun of nuts, they have been quite delicious. However as I have assumed both have high energy content, usually changing wheat to nuts, I have assumed they both will make you just as fat but regular cakes are just more delicious.

However according to studies, cooking meat or vegetables will make them easier to use for the body. Nutrients from both vegetables and meat are better absorbed from cooked ones, while nutrients from raw versions will not absorb as well. 1 , 2

meat-1769188_1280.jpg
Image from Pixabay.

This means a calorie doesn't always equal an calorie, as different sources are absorbing in different amounts. This leads into the fact that amount of calories in food might be similar but they do not absorb as well, so calories from the other food will absorb better.
Sometimes this is seen as a advantage especially in areas which have scarcity of food, but not in typical western countries in which obesity is an real issue.
So my recommendation is to eat raw cakes and stay slim instead of eating normal cooked food and gaining weight.

Issues with bad calorie absorption

The issue with poor calorie absorption is not only limited to countries with issues on finding enough food, but in cases where a person has a medical reason for problems with calorie intake. Short bowel syndrome is one of the cases in which the nutrients will not absorb efficiently to give person enough energy.
However you should not feel jealous of anyone with SBS, as they usually have somewhat strict diet and typical symptoms of SBS include diarrhea and dehydration. It should be easier to add raw cakes in your diet instead of having a complete overhaul of your diet. 3

A warning!

Not all raw is recommended to be eaten. An attempt to eat raw wrestling might cause loss of teeth or death by choking. Please prefer raw cakes (and different raw meats) instead of everything being raw.

Presentation_of_the_WWE_Women's_Champion_on_Raw_April_2016.jpg
By Miguel Discart [CC BY-SA 2.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

Sources:
Dietary fiber content of commonly fresh and cooked vegetables consumed in India. (Khanum F1, Siddalinga Swamy M, Sudarshana Krishna KR, Santhanam K, Viswanathan KR.), Plant Foods Hum Nutr. 2000;55(3):207-18.
The energetic significance of cooking. (Carmody RN1, Wrangham RW.) J Hum Evol. 2009 Oct;57(4):379-91. doi: 10.1016/j.jhevol.2009.02.011. Epub 2009 Sep 3.
Nutritional absorption in short bowel syndrome. (Graham M. WoolfCindy MillerRegina KurianKhursheed N. Jeejeebhoy) Digestive Diseases and Sciences, January 1987, Volume 32, Issue 1, pp 8–15

Sort:  

You Should Try Moroccan's Food it's Healty & Delicious
This Is the Best 5 Food in Morocco :)
https://steemit.com/food/@davinshi/top-5-foods-in-morocco-you-will-regret-if-you-didn-t-try-it
thank you for sharing ^^

Sorry I do not think you really even read my post.

Congratulations, out of all four accounts I have created for people so far you are the only one still being active. Well done :)

To support you and your cause, I will not proceed to upvote you and resteem your post. I will not undelegate the SP you have so far, as what is a tiny piece of power to me should be a great amount for you!

Keep up the good work.

Hi and thank you, I never thanked for creating the account so thank you for the opportunity and help.

Berries galore and salad. You can add nuts for extra flavor or an extra experience / profile. When it comes to eating raw think of fruits and some veggies (think of meals that are self prepared, IMHO, this is best way to save money and take control over your health while welcoming yourself to more experimentation with food ::). My favorite would have to be bananas, apples, oranges, watermelons to name a few. I love making amaranth and throwing in some coconut oil, honey, strawberries, bananas & blueberries.

amaranth bfast.jpg

Try shopping at your local farmers market, it's a great reason to get out and possible make new friends, learn new recipes, tips, tricks.

img = google_amaranth breakfast : wholefoodsmarket.com

Hi, thank you @justtryme90 I really appreciate this! Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62875.13
ETH 3030.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67