Vegetarianism vs Veganism

in #food6 years ago (edited)

vegan-1462358784pPU.jpg
In the world of cruelty-free eating there are a few labels that can confuse or cause division. Among these is the Vegetarian, Strict-vegetarian, the dietary vegan and the Vegan.

What am I
Strictly speaking I have been a dietary vegan for 3 months - with health problems that mean avoiding wool, and most if not all cleaning products and make-up which could contain animal products or involve any kind of cruelty to animals. I also have an allergy to feathers. The concept of fur just disgusts me but I lu-u-urve faux fur.

What made me write this today
I was doing a bit of research today. I was walking though the living room and smelt the burger that my husband had cooked and it smelt awful. I was really surprised. It would have smelt delicious a few months ago but I have no desire to try it now and I was actually repulsed. This was fascinating. I hopped on to trusty Google and had a bit of a wander around a few forums. Turns out this was a normal thing for vegans (dietary or otherwise). Way to go, the hard work is paying off!

Then the discussion on labelling
Then I found the discussion of what you can call yourself if you eat a plant-based diet. Apparently one of the posters had seen a cookery show that featured a chef from a vegan restaurant. At the end of the session she put parmesan cheese on the top of the finished dish. Bearing in mind this was from a lady who cooked in a vegan restaurant, she said hardcore vegans would prefer to put fake cheese on. Oh. My. God.

There are a couple of reasons why you may go (dietary) vegan. Mine was health with a healthy concern for animals on the side. I cannot consider myself a hardcore vegan because I just don’t think that way. I minimise the impact I have on the world and that’s about it. Beyond that eating any dairy will seriously harm me. If I go to a vegan restaurant I don’t expect any dairy or eggs to be served with my food. Call yourself a vegetarian restaurant and then I can ask if any animals gave up their lives for that meal. I would then obviously ask if it could be changed, choose a different dinner or eat elsewhere. Veganism is not just a life choice, it is also a health choice. I do not want painful open sores down my arms and legs for a month because a chef thought putting a bit of parmesan cheese on top of something was a good idea.

I am seriously confused about this. In restaurants in the UK if something says it is vegan then there has to be no animal derived products whatsoever in that meal. Vegetarian means there may be milk, cheese and eggs in it. It is completely safe for me (unless there is citrus fruit in it which is a different problem). Breaking down vegetarianism and veganism waters-down the usefulness of the terms in the real world. To avoid someone poisoning me I will call myself vegan. Saying I am dairy-free, egg-free, and I don’t eat meat anymore is a bit of a mouthful.

The image above is public domain and can be seen here: http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/view-image.php?image=165738&picture=vegan

Sort:  

I have only been a vegetarian since May, and I've been attacked by members of the vegan community so much already that I'm very hesitant to go vegan now. Please don't encourage the bullying of vegetarians, life is really complicated for some of us, and not all of us can go vegan right now and we all still love animals. I eat eggs because my mom has chickens, they are not in a factory farm setting, they are loved family pets who will NOT be put down when they quit laying. We have beautiful land they all live together happily on, they roam around all day long and we tuck them into their coop every night. We even feed them back their egg shells which they love. I do go out for ice cream sometimes, but I mainly buy soy,almond, or coconut milk at the store. A majority of the non vegan food I eat is stuff my family bought, I spend my money on food that is mostly vegan.

It's kind of the opposite I'm aiming for. I've been accused of not being a proper vegan because i don't subscribe completely to the way of life. I'm actually quite in awe of vegetarians who do it out of principles. I only get annoyed when someone describes vegetarian food as vegan because it can make me and anyone allergic to dairy really ill.

I really don't understand why anyone would attack someone for going vegan or vegetarian. The act of doing that is good. Whatever reason you do it for, it saves the animals lives AND removes cruelty. Some vegans (although I haven't actually met one only been told not to call myself vegan from friends of some!) get annoyed at dietary vegans for calling themselves vegan. I wrote this post to explain that calling oneself vegan can save certain people (me) from getting ill.
A vegetarian can eat vegan food. A vegan can't eat vegetarian food.

Ah, I get why you thought I was attacking you now. I was being tongue in cheek on a part of the post about animals dying for milk in vegetarian food. It is technically true but it was uncalled for and that bit didn't need to be in the post. I'm sorry if I offended you. I really don't care what other people eat, I just can't. Maybe that's a little jealously on my part? :)

This comment has received a 6.49 % upvote from @upgoater thanks to: @jmehta.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @cericlark to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Are you a pure vegan? I have a question - is it not tempting to have meat / seafood ?

If you talk to other vegans I'm not. I do have a pair of leather trainers from a few years ago and a jacket padded with feathers, I'll have to get rid of. I'm allergic to feathers so i have a sneaky suspicion is contributing to my asthma being bad. On the food front, I'm very strict. It's just not worth the pain. I was tempting by smells before but i suddenly discovered today that the smell of meat is gross. Definitely not tempted anymore! :)

wow. Nice comparison. Glad it's started working out for you ! cheers :)

I agree with you.
BTW I am Vegetarian and do not eat eggs, meat etc.. It makes me feel more human (or keeps me close to humanity by not eating animal based stuff (I won't call it food) ).

My upvote is for you.

Wow, thank you. I appreciate that.

It's always my pleasure to support right people like you who spread good words.

This post was promoted with @monitorcap traffic bot & STEEM promotion service.

Send MIN. $1 SBD to @monitorcap bot with your link in MEMO field
and recieve upvotes & resteems for your posts. @monitorcap - where 'seen' matters !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73