Japanese Food Series: Part2 - GyozasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Crispy, meaty, juicy, salty and sometimes spicy. A gyoza is all of these things and always soul satisfying.


I love all kinds of dumplings but gyoza hold a special place in my heart. It was my wife that introduced me to this delicious dish. We would go to an Izakaya after work and devour plates of gyoza and many other dishes. This dish and a some beer made all the day's challenges a distant memory! Gyoza are great at lunchtime with a bowl of ramen or for a late night snack with drinks. Really anytime is gyoza time!


Ingredients

  1. 1 pound of ground pork
  2. 2 cups of shredded cabbage, lightly steamed and dried
  3. 3 Scallions minced
  4. 1 Tablespoon Ginger minced
  5. 1 Tablespoon Garlic minced
  6. 1 Tablespoon Soy Sauce
  7. 2 teaspoons sugar
  8. 1 Tablespoon Sesame Oil
  9. 2 Tablespoons Corn Starch
  10. Gyoza Skins
  11. Egg Wash


Method

  1. Mix ingredients #1 to #9 together in a bowl.
  2. Place around 2 teaspoons of filling into a gyoza skin and brush the edge with egg wash.
  3. Fold the gyoza with a pleat pattern. Continue until they are all filled.
  4. Heat a pan on medium high heat with a thin layer of oil. Non-Stick pans are great for beginners.
  5. Place the gyoza into the pan and cook for one minute.
  6. Add a cup of water to the pan and cover and steam the dumplings for three minutes.
  7. Remove the lid and let all the water evaporate out of the pan.
  8. Let the gyoza sizzle in the pan for 30 seconds and then turn off the heat.
  9. Place a plate upside down on top of the dumplings. Carefully flip the pan and plate with one hand on the plate. You will have the gyoza beautifully presented on the plate with the crispy side up.
  10. Serve with the dipping sauce.


Dipping Sauce and Chili Pepper

  1. 1/8 Cup Soy Sauce
  2. 1/8 Cup Rice Vinegar
  3. 1 Teaspoon Sesame oil
  4. Ichimi Togarashi

Method

  1. Mix ingredients #1 to #3 together
  2. I you like you can also add minced ginger or scallion to the sauce
  3. And Serve a small amount of Ichicmi Tigarashi on the side for a spicy kick.


Thank you for stopping by today. I hope you enjoyed this post. If you missed the first post in this series about ramen, you can find it Here.

Please ask me any questions you have in the comments section below.
Steve

Sort:  

Looks delicious!

Thank you! It was delicious!

Que rico se ve

Thanks! It is delicious!

interesting food, my new friend.

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @blocktrades valued at 93.68 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

interesting photos, my friend, now following you and have upvoted you as well

Thank you! I will head over to see your content!

thank you so much, my new friend

You are really enjoying life! Fishing in Alaska and jumping behind the bar!

I can't decide if I like fried or steamed gyoza better. But either way I know your version was probably so delicious!

Thank you for the kind words! I like them fried!

Ah, looks so yum! You've got the folding technique down pat!

Thank you! My wife taught me that!

Is she Japanese?

half Japanese and half Chinese, raised in Thailand and Canada. She is a little of everything!

I have't been Japan food.
Thank for sharing.

:::: your ^ stability ::::

I need to get off steemit because all these amazing pictures of yummy food is making me hungry.

HaHa! Sorry to make you hungry! Thank you for your nice comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95