Coffee with a difference!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Coffee undoubtedly is one of the most popular drinks in the world and there are many ways to make a coffee. For me as a vegan not only the ingredients to make a nice coffee but also it is as well important in which it is served.
I used to make my coffee black or sometimes with plant-based milk like soy, coconut, almond or cashew milk. Sometimes I also use ginger or clove to give it a different taste. Mostly I use sugar or unrefined sugar as a sweetener but from last few days, I started to use jaggery as my preferred sweetener for tea and coffee.
Here is the coffee I made today is with coconut milk and jaggery as a sweetener.
IMG_0441.JPG

Now as I mentioned above not only the ingredients but it is also very important in which cup/mug I drink my coffee or any drink. A nice presentation makes any food/drink more appealing and nowadays in the market, there are a lot of attractive crockery available made of bone china, but despite name itself shows that it contains bones and it is a deadly cocktail of slaughterhouse byproducts made available through a cruel industrial process most of the people ignore it and proudly shows their love to bone china crockery.

How is bone china crockery produced?
Bone china crockery is made from clay containing varying degrees of bone ash (25% to 50%). Wondering how the bone ash is produced? Animal bones obtained from slaughterhouses are first processed to remove the flesh and glue from them. The bones are then heated at very high temperatures (1100c to 1250c) until they burn to ash or to a fine powder. This ash or powder is then combined with water and clay to produce a slurry. Finally, the slurry is fashioned into cups, saucers, plates, teapots, bowls of various shapes and sizes… familiar objects in your kitchen and dining table, aren’t they?!

After turning vegan I choose to have my food in metallic, ceramic or glass containers and used to drink coffee in ceramic or glass containers. Ceramic cups are not much durable and glass mugs are transparent so yesterday I bought Cello's opalware mugs and really so beautiful that there should be an excuse to use cruel bone china crockery.
IMG_0425.JPG

What is opalware?
Opalware is purely a glass product. The term "opal glass" is used to refer to a commercial glass that looks milky white due to the addition of some whitening agent like SnO.

The product is marked with a green dot which says 100% vegetarian and bone ash free.

IMG_0430.jpg

IMG_0436.JPG

Beautiful cruelty free mugs!


IMG_0438.JPG

A coffee with a difference


  • Do you use bone china crockery and aware of cruelty involved in it?


U5dsqLssqhV6SUKw2Af6NLAy3MmdDDT.gif
upvote follow resteem.png

Sort:  

Really good information and coffee looks yummy.. Happy Sunday.

I do not use bone china myself, but knew of it and never actually realised it was made of actual bone. Good information this, I will make sure I avoid it in the future.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

I take my coffee out of a cup that has the logo of a tugboat company that has been out of business 30 years :) It was a mug for the galley of a tow boat and I've been drinking coffee out of it for at least 25 years. I'll promise you it isn't fine china :)

What a passion of mine, and even now they are just finding out about all the health benefits!

I love to have my coffee in transparent glass ...and I've several designs for that with me ...LOL!

Yes, black coffee looks nice in a transparent glass. I also like transparent mug while having black coffee.

Thanks for this nice information. I was not aware that bone china products really contain bones of animals. This is disgusting.

Hope now you would be conscious in choosing your crockery. :-)

I don’t really drink coffee but this look delicious

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well, you know, Kofee can be made in many ways.

In which country Coffee had invented and how people came to know about coffee?

You should look up the Ethiopian Goat Herder Kaldi who noticed his goats got very active after eating the cherries off a certain tree.

Great! Answer.

Have to find out :-)

Many things happen over a coffee....but coffee with jaggery is a unique combunation must give a try...
Feeling nice to see you the vegan life even with crockery stuff....👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, jaggery is a healthy alternative for white sugar. Vegan life is incomplete without taking care of all aspects of life.

Thats is best thing to know about being vegan......i too favor jaggery...and it is the only source of my sweet intake...i mostly avoid sugar intake

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97