Homemade Biscuit and Gravy Recipe

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Homemade Biscuit and Gravy Recipe

Hello steemits, this morning I made some homemade biscuits and turkey sausage gravy.  I wanted to share my recipe with you.  I hope you will try it.  They are very delicious and easy to make. I am going to share with you my biscuit recipe in the first part of the post, and then I will share with you the gravy recipe. 

 

Ingredients

  • 2 cups of  self-rising flour
  • 9 tablespoons butter
  • 3/4 cup of milk ( I used almond milk )
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon sugar

Directions

  preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Take a large mixing bowl and add flour, sugar, sea salt, and butter.

 Add the milk to the ingredients in the bowl. 

Stir the ingredients till it is all mixed, then take the dough and knead it on a lightly floured surface.  

Roll out the dough on the lightly floured surface.  The dough should be the thickness of a 1/2 inch.

Using a biscuit cutter or a cup to cut the shape of a biscuit.

Grease a baking pan, and place in the oven for 10 to 12 minutes.  I brushed butter on my biscuits about 7 minutes while the biscuits were cooking. 

Let them cool, and they are ready to serve.  Makes 10 biscuits.

The Turkey sausage Gravy recipe

Our family loves biscuit and gravy and it is a snow here.  So, I decided to make the turkey gravy for my little kiddo's this morning.  I hope my sister @findingjoy will try this recipe.  Sausage gravy is her favorite, but she and her family does not eat pork.  This way she can still have sausage gravy but not with pork.  Maybe that will bring her some joy to her life.  This recipe has turkey sausage and to me it has the same great taste as the pork sausage does, but it better for us.   

Ingredients

  • 1/2 pound of turkey sausage
  • 3 cups of milk ( I used 2 % milk )
  • a little under 1/2 cup of all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper

Directions

Using a large skillet, fry the turkey sausage until it is fully cooked and brown.

After the turkey sausage is fully cooked, turn the heat to medium.  Add in the flour stir and mix it until the flour binds to the turkey sausage. It keeps the gravy from having lumps of flour.

Next, slowly add milk and stir constantly while adding the milk. Add the sea salt and the black pepper.

Turn the heat down to low, and cook until it thickens.  Stir the gravy occasionally.

It will cook for about 10 to 15 minutes, and when the gravy has thicken it will be done.  Serve and it is ready to eat. 

I hope you enjoyed reading my recipes.  If you like reading my posts please follow me @christir.  I'm going to go eat ( bon appetit). 

The recipes are original and made by @christir. I hope you enjoyed them.





  













Sort:  

I appreciate your work and I am sure they are very testy👏

Thank you, and yes they were good. You should try out the recipe.

Hmmm that sounds good!

It was good! you should try the recipe. I will tell you it takes practice to make the perfect biscuit. I still don't make them as well as my husband's grandmother did. She could make the best biscuits.

I may just have to try! Not fond of turkey meat so that may be the challenge for me.

Wow, so sweet, thanks for sharing the recipe, Please cut me some please!!!!

You are welcome, thanks for reading my post. I will cut you a piece!

My mouth is watering looking at those biscuits 😋

Thanks, you really need to try the turkey sausage gravy. It is soo good!

I was just sitting here thinking about what to make for dinner tonight... sounds like a breakfast for dinner is in order now!!!

You will have to tell me how it turned out. I hope you will enjoy it.

Jut got it all prepped- sausage gravy, biscuits, hash browns and eggs. A little off our normal menu but this will be our cheat meal of the week!

Haha, sounds good and simple easy meals are the best, and less clean up . Hope you enjoyed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62