Concoction Rice: A Life Saver!

in #food6 years ago

Anybody who passed through a Nigerian tertiary institution knows what concoction Rice is, and has probably eaten it but if you happen to be a Nigerian reading this and you have no idea what concoction Rice is then it probably means your surname is Dangote, Adenuga, Otedola etcetra or you're what we call Ajebo.
Concoction Rice is like any other concoction. It is thoroughly mixed until desired result is achieved. Succinctly put, it's a broke version of jollof rice. Here's a proper jollof rice with all the essentials in its full glory
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcR6eUkTjFLW-e_PPgjOIbbSM8642CjP4uIfxKILlXvBHQbVPPDlsBgLHR0

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRzizXQ5vsm7eJkCUyQeq4abE0uD0Xa4vN5AU8A-uEV_3xEqnqYmIo-oJ8

And on the other hand, here's a concoction rice

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQlffXg3CIHtWjITafjhtDdvuq3tlm9kFXXwdtDduFlY8VKScvNSNOpQKML9A
See the difference? It's not only in the taste, it's in everything starting from the physical appearance to the joy it emits, down to the satisfaction you feel after eating it.

On this very good day, there was nothing edible left at home save a few cups of rice.
I was devastated, broke and hungry. I checked my wallet to reaffirm the level of my brokenness, saw one miserable looking hundred naira that had seen better days. My head was swirling fast with calculation of what I can do to salvage the situation at hand and then it came to me like a revelation, a smile formed on my face, the first one actually for that day.
Quickly I dashed off to iya sikirat's place to get a sachet of tamotoe paste, two cube of Maggi and grinded pepper, collected my ten naira change and headed back to my place of abode.
On getting home, I set to work. Mixing the concoction was the task at hand and I was going to do it satisfactorily. While going about the task I discovered I still had an unused egg lying somewhere in the kitchen.
And that was how I realized when theres a will, there will be a way. After mixing or rather cooking what I had here's what I came up with.

See the best things in life are indeed free!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59