I love fish and chips!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

I love Fish and Chips!!

As many of you know, fish & chips are one of the most popular dishes in the UK.
If you ask me what is so special about this deep fried fish and potatoes, I have no way to describe it - You simply just got to try it! Freshly fried ones are the best. The best ones you can get are from the seaside. I personally like the one from Whitby, the small and beautiful seaside town in northern England.

IMG_2926.jpg

Last week, me and my husband decided to get fish & chips from his all time favourite chippy - Tony's fish and chips.
Apparently the owner has changed but the new owner kept the name. So I am telling you now, if you went there and looked for Tony, he wouldn't be there :)

I love going to a chippy apart from coming back home with their smell - oh the joy of having clothes smell like oil!

Whenever we go to chippys, my husband ask for gravy and curry sauce. Now, you might think this is odd(I did at first), but don't judge until you try them! Fish can be drying sometimes and lack of flavours. You can enjoy as it is but I think it is so much more interesting if you dip the small piece of fish in either gravy or curry sauce! Yum.
I am not sure if other English from different regions eat fish & chips like this. Comment below and let me know!

IMG_2927.jpg

The curry sauce you can get from the chippy are mild so don't worry if you can't handle spicy curry.

My favourite drink to have whenever I go to Tony's is this one.

IMG_2928.jpg

It's sweet, fizzy drink that has special flavour, which I believe is dandelion and burdock. According to Wikipedia,
it is traditionally made with fermented dandelion and burdock root. Sounds interesting, doesn't it? :)
I don't see this drink often, so I always get it when I go to Tony's. I think it is only about a pound.

It may be simply but I like fish and chips because I feel like I am part English and excited to see my family happy. I listen to their memories of having fish and chips from different places such as, the seaside and who they had it with etc - It's a humble, comfort food that make people nostalgic.

Sort:  

Great Post, I invite you to go through my post https://steemit.com/food/@moccat/6-comidas-coreanas-que-debes-probar. Greetings.

Congratulations @coochya! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @coochya! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66790.10
ETH 3527.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.16