You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tiger Lilies, Free Food for the Foraging, and #ShoutOuts to fellow Steemians

in #food5 years ago

I'm reminded of my mom and late sister, during a particularly tough economic time, when they were sitting together in their apartment when the electricity was turned off.

After a pause, my mom, who rarely cursed, turned to my sister, and said: "Fuck 'em if they can't take a joke."

They both doubled over laughing.

One of the biggest advantages of turning 50, to me, was how freeing it was to simply stop giving a crap what anyone else thinks if me or my actions.

Don't approve of me? Cool. No harm, no foul. I approve of me, and frankly, that's all the approval I need.

And on those occasions when I don't approve of me, when I've actually done something to apologize for, I . . . gasp. . . drum roll please . . . apologize. Without fanfare.

Because that's what functioning adults do. We take responsibility for our actions, apologize when we're wrong, and don't worry about much else. Because, in the long run, it's all small stuff.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

YES!!! One of the women who survived the Titanic said that: Don't fret the small stuff, it's pretty much all small stuff.
I'm internalizing this and I would make a wall plaque out of it except I've seen so many plaques and memes, they become plagues and reminders of how I keep failing to be the bright, cheery bringer of joy to all.
How can we clone your wisdom and innoculate humanity with it?

This one's not my wisdom, but taken from the title of a book. ;-)

And it's just a guess, but the woman on the Titanic may have been Molly Brown, who had enough wisdom and humor for the whole damn ship.

I've read several books about her over the years, but don't recall that quote, but of course it may well have been another woman.

And I've always meant to read the book, but then again, perhaps the title is enough. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

The unsinkable Molly Brown had her share of great, quotable quotes! The woman I'm thinking of was one of the last two surivors, almost a hundred years old at the time, and I saw her interviewed (Eva....?) and she said "it's all small stuff." Others have said similar things. She may not have coined the phrase. Looks like Richard Carlson gets credit for it:
https://www.goodreads.com/work/quotes/164688-don-t-sweat-the-small-stuff

“Don't sweat the small stuff...and it's all small stuff.”

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61974.94
ETH 3126.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77