STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #4 : Shuba.

in #food7 years ago

Hello Steemit Nation!

Today I will make something special for Steemit culinary challenge no 4! My ideea was to make Shuba Salad.

But before I start with the making of the recipe I must explain something...
first the word shuba in romanian means winter clothing, something similar in translation would be the winter clothing of people who live in the North Pole...so something little bit extreme.
My family comes originally from Russia, they run away because of the religious oppresion . The legend is that it was in that time a religious leader (priest at high rank) called Lipov. The țar saw other people from the Europe that they were different and wanted to impose this to all his people. He called Lipov and ordered him to tell all the people to cut their hair and barada (russian fonetic word for beard) .
Again here I must explain...all the people (most of them anyway) that were religious in that time they respected the old calendar not new ...and things like appearence too, more exact they wear a big beard(only maried folks) like Jesus Christ in the old times and women very long hair (close to the anckles).
Now Lipov tell the word of the țar (leader, emperor) to the people and he added something else...

If you want to keep your faith in God and not the țar, run!

And so they run to other countries and among them were my great-great- grandparents that arrived in Romania.
I say that this is a legend because this story was passed down from father to son or daughter and so on until I came to be, the history events were more evil.
Since I was a child I heard a lot of stories from my parents and grandparents and great-grandparents (yes they were alive) and among them this Shuba recipe. So please enjoy!

The ingredients are as follows:
Note:bring them to the boiling point, dont keep them to much there.

  • Potatoes
  • carrots
  • Beetroot (Sfeclă Roșie in romanian languege)
  • Onion, green
  • Eggs
  • Apple
  • Pickled Olives
  • salt
  • marinated fish
  • sunflower oil
  • Pickled pepper (aditional ingredient added at the last step for taste and ornament)

First step is to clean the ingredients and them put them in a container with water and bring them to the boiling point.



Eggs

boiled ingredients

Now the next step is to make the mayonnaise

First step for this is to take the boiled egg , take out the yolk and mix it with un-boiled egg and mustard and little bit sunflower oil and salt.


Mix

The oil you can add when you mix it with a mixer. You can try mixing manually if you want to build some muscles!

Mix 2

Ok, good we now have the mayonnaise! The next step is to cut into little slices the apple, and the boiled ingredients (potatoes, beetroot, carrot)


After this the ingredients will look like this:


In the photo we have our mayonnaise, the marinated fish, and all the boiled ingredients into tiny little pieces and of course some green onion.
Now you must create the layers!

For the first row or layer put the green onions and on top put little bit mayonnaise.

Then add the fish!


Put little bit of mayonnaise on top.

Fill all the spaces on top and you will have something like this!

If you have the same result as me then I will raise my glass for your health!

Ok now we add the tiny slices of the apple.

Now we add the pickled olives (no seeds inside).


For ornament we add the pickled pepper !If you read my blog in the past you might remember these peppers!


Yep the peppers were from my previous recipe and now are ready for consumption.

https://steemit.com/recipes/@cynetyc/romanian-pickle-recipe

And now we ornament with the olives, pepper, and egg white on top. You can do any ornanment or design that you like, I tried to do the Steemit logo with my pickled peppers!

And that's it Congratulations you made your shuba! Bon apetit!

Thank you very much for your visit to my blog. See you next time!

Sort:  

It looks delicious! Congratulations to good legend!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Thanks for the information lovely bot, @linkback-bot-v0!

Yahoo, super awesome, thank you @englishtchrivy!

PS:Wow very nice photo the red layers merging with the red bell pepper from my salad . I love it alot!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.43 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 19 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

loved it all until we go to the marinated fish - then you lost me...
looks amazing and the pics are good
good share :)

Thanks @ladypenelope1, this recipe is olso known as a fish salad, but the recipe is different for each fish, were the most important ingredients like potatoe and carrots and beetroot remain a constant.

Beautiful job! Fantastic. Good luck in the competition!

Thank you very much @gringalicious, I have my fingers crossed!

Looks tasty, thanks for share. Cheers

O yeah a salad perfect for winter time! I am glad you liked it @rappiro !

@cynetyc, I sent you a message in the chat but I can't reach you- could you please specify what fish that is - herring?

Sorry for my late reply ! I left outside and I did not check my post in Steemit for a long time...

Yes @englishtchrivy you are correct it is herring. But I must add that this is specific to my family recipe and that there are different types of fishes that can be put in the recipe.
We popular call it (for this recipe) pan fish because it is smal and easy to handle .
Pan fish can be herring (like here) and even anchovy.

@cynetyc great work! Yesterday I bought a herring and also going to prepare this salad :) I wonder where you live that you have the same traditions?

I am from Romania, but I inherited this old traditions . In my country we are called lipoveni.

Nice to meet you. I like your recipes!

This is absolutely beautiful!
Did your Great Grandparents cut their hair too, in addition to fleeing Russia?

No they kept the tradition until they died...the ones who left from Russia got the name - Lipoveni and they are all over the Earth...but time slowly erases them...or better I say..us!

Yes. It is so important for us to keep the information about customs, traditions and history alive. It is being lost over time.
I greatly enjoyed learning about your family through the food you prepared. It was heartwarming. :)

great work @cynetyc , that look beautiful and delicious :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60805.28
ETH 2912.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59