Sweet Potato Soup for Lunch Today! - Recipe Included

in #food6 years ago

When @oysteinholand 's family (My Norwegian Family!) visited us here in Texas this Summer we were treated by our guest to this dish. It is so creamy and delicious. This morning before work Mamakirbs ( @findingjoy ) whipped up (in about 45 minutes using the Instant-Pot ) a batch for me to take to work.

Sweet Potato Soup Lunch
picture of my actual lunch at work today!

This bowl of yumminess is topped off with pine nuts and toasted bread crumbs. I like a little crunch.

Sweet Potato Soup Recipe

recipe provided to me through text message by my Norwegian family

Size: Family dinner + leftovers (maybe)

2-3 Sweet Potatos (if they are good sized, about the sice of a baseball or bigger, you only need 2)
1-2 Onions (again, depends on the size)
3 Carrots
2 Garlic cloves
1 tbs Fresh ginger
Chili (as spicy as you wanna make it)
50-65 oz Water
Stock cubes (chicken/beef/vegetable or a mix, 1 cube pr 17 oz of fluid)
1 lime (press the juice)
3-4 oz coconut milk
10 oz heavy cream / half n' half
Dash of salt
Dash of pepper

  • Start by cutting sweet potatos, onions, carrots, ginger, chili and garlic.
    Shape and size dosen't matter, but the vegetables will be coocked tender
    faster if the pieces are small. Garlic cloves just needs to be peeled.
    Make sure to cut of the hard end and you can cook the whole clove.

Tip: It's easier to peel of the skin on the ginger by using a spoon, especially
the parts of the ginger where it's difficult to reach with a knife. Peel of as
mush as you need, and cut slices until you have about 1 table spoon.

  • Use a good sized caserole and pour all vegetables in. I prefer to blanche the
    vegetables before cooking. Avocado oil is perfect for this, just add a splash.
    Blanche with salt and pepper until the vegetables look "shiny" and the onions
    starts to soften (usualy takes 3-5 minutes on high heat). Make sure to use a
    wooden spoon and stir regularly. This will accentuate the flavours in the vegetables.

  • Poor water until it covers the vegetables, you can also add the cream or half n' half,
    or you can add it a few minutes before serving. Same with the lime juice and coconut milk.
    Also add the stock cubes, 1 cube for every 17th oz of fluid. I usealy use 4-5 cubes.

  • Let it cook on low medium heat until you can mash the vegetables with the wooden spoon.
    Then the vegetables should me tender enough for mixing them by using a stick blender.
    If you haven't added the cream/milk/coconut milk or lime juice before, you can add it
    in before you blend the vegetables with the mixer.

Tip: The easiest way to get as much juice out of the lime as possible is to roll the lime
with your hand against a flat surface. Press it hard against the flat surface until
you can tell that the fibers inside of the lime has popped.

  • For serving you can add croutons, sour cream, roasted nuts, cooked chicken/fish/beef, rice
    or what you like as a topping on the soup, or garlic bred, toast or bread and butter as a
    side dish.

  • Bon appétit !


Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!


Sort:  

Sounds like a great recipe, Thank You for sharing it! Tweeted

Wow that looks so great I’m gonna try it on this cold day in Utah. Loved it when you had your company it was a fun YouTube video to watch. So enjoy watching you..I have been following you for years. Look forward to every Saturday to watch you live although I know I don’t chat I do watch you while I’m getting ready for work love you and the family continued success to all of you

Thank you so much for sharing this journey with me!

It’s my pleasure.. I’m only here on this site now because of your encouragement from your Saturday live show. Can’t wait till you do a live show explaining more on how to function in steemit. 🧐

I'm dreaming of a way to do that. I really want to encourage people to come over to Steemit. The potential is huge!

Very interesting @daddykirbs

It's easy to make and tastes great!

sounds yamiii @daddykirbs i ll try it, thank you for sharing :)

We make soup almost every day but for some reason I've never thought to make a sweet potato soup. Your post was very conveniently timed :) I just baked a whole bunch of sweet potatoes tonight and need to do something with the left overs tomorrow!

This sounds great! I love sweet potatoes :D

@daddykirbs, this sounds wonderful. I just happen to have some sweet potatoes in the pantry. Definitely will try this one. Upvoted and liked.

That sounds delicious and since I’m sitting on about 10lbs of seeet potatoes from last years harvest, I shall give this a try

this sounds delicious! reminds me of a very similar recipe i have for ginger carrot soup. basically the same, actually, just more carrots and less potato :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62900.77
ETH 2949.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59