Tablea | The Philippines' Cocoa Rounds (Champorado Recipe Inside)

in #food6 years ago (edited)

In my post, The Philippines' Carinderia, I told you about the times I enjoyed sikwate and puto maya in Bankerohan Market in my hometown.

Sikwate is a hot chocolate drink that is made from Tablea, which our government defines as "roasted, ground and molded nibs of fermented pure (100%) cacao beans without added ingredients and additives. It is also a cocoa mass and cocoa liquor made from cacao beans that are fermented, dried, roasted, ground then molded into blocks, balls, discs, or tablets."

tablea3.jpg

Although tablea is available in the supermarkets here in Malolos, I've always felt like it's not the same as the one from Davao. The consistency and texture is quite different and it may be because of the Cacao it was made from. It is not popularly known, but notable international chocolate makers actually get their Cacao supply from a community in the outskirts of Davao City. It is said that Shawn Askinosie, owner of Askinosie Chocolates, visited a farm there himself and declared that the "area is perfect for the production of quality cacaos".

Some may say I'm just being sentimental and that may very well be true. Nonetheless, I rarely prepare sikwate and champorado now that I'm living away from Davao. I especially miss them during the rainy season and so I was ecstatic to get my hands on a couple dozen of these "tablets" just a few days ago. My sister and her family spent some time in our hometown as part of their yearly vacation and she bought some as pasalubong for me. I immediately made good use of the precious chocolate rounds by preparing Champorado.

tablea6.jpg

For me, Champorado is one of the most delightful snacks one can have on a rainy day such as today. Like many of the dishes I shared with you in the past, Champorado has been a huge part of my childhood. I associate it with wonderful memories of lazy Sunday mornings, when my mom served it hot for breakfast.

tablea1.jpg
What I use: Malagkit Rice (Glutinous Rice), Tablea, and Brown Sugar.
What I do: Combine Malagkit Rice and water in a heavy-bottom cooking pot. Set under medium heat until it boils. Add tablea and turn to low heat. Make sure to stir often. Add brown sugar when rice is thoroughly cooked. You'll know it's ready when the porridge is thick.

tablea2.jpg
Serve hot, topped with lots of milk

It seemed the heavy rains wouldn't stop falling these past few days. I didn't mind them so much because I was busy in my kitchen, reminiscing childhood memories while enjoying this hot bliss. I am hoping whoever reads this had as much comfort.

All photos are mine, taken using a Samsung S7 Edge camera phone


footer2.png

footer.jpg

Sort:  

Comfort food! In our champorados before we used Milo and if i have to reminisce my stay in Bayawan...it's their puto maya.

That puto maya from Bayawan has piqued my curiosity. It's now one of the reasons why I want to visit Negros!!!

masarap kainin lalo nat ma ulan ngayon.. tanong ako po.. talaga bang masarap siya pares sa tuyo?

Masarap talaga. Nung una I thought it was weird and hindi ako lumaki na pinagpapares silang dalaw. I think more on Tagalog yung tandem na yan and dito ko na natikman sa Bulacan. In fairness, talagang may reason sila para ipair ang champorado sa tuyo. pag may chance ka, try mo rin. =D

dko kasi sa negros wla kang makikitang nag titinda ng champorado.. you have to make your own ba.. dito sikat yung arroz caldo, batchoy, soup no.5, nilugaw., lomi, birds nest soup...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65128.28
ETH 2950.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64