Indian mood today

in #food5 years ago (edited)

P1310312.JPG

Over the years I somehow managed to turn myself from a huge fan of fast food and crappy food and eating mainly out to relatively healthy eating person, preferring homemade and simple mainly vegan food. I even had a period when I was addicted to mcdonalds and nothing else seemed tasty to me. That was more than 10 years ago though and now my taste receptors apparently work very differently, my health condition is very different too and I prefer to eat food prepared by me, which means I cook a lot and I love to do it. I decided to share one of my last meals with you - a great dish for lunch/dinner if you're a fan of Indian food - Mung Daal. It is a very popular and if you googled it there are plenty of recipes with small differences but overall it is very simple, healthy and requires minimal effort to prepare, still it takes some time. It is a dish from boiled mung beans with spices like ginger, turmeric, cumin, paprika and coriander served with boiled rice. My favorite way to consume it is with salad and vegan "parmesan", prepared from chopped cashew nuts, nutritional yeast, salt and a little turmeric. I make it often and add it to many dishes like pasta or salads, it goes pretty much with everything and it makes mung daal a lot more delicious.

Photo 13.03.19, 11 34 35.jpg

P1310303.JPG

Photo 13.03.19, 12 32 30.jpg

The dessert was candies made from cashew nuts, cacao powder, honey, hazelnut tahini, shredded coconut and coconut butter.

Photo 13.03.19, 12 43 57.jpg

P1310332.JPG

zaimdcs8up.jpg

It would really like also to start growing my own food someday in the next years and I hope it will happen. Do you know that the plants contain different nutrients depending on the person that take care of them and the needs of his body? Also if a garden change its owner for a couple of years the plants that grow there also change depending on his body needs. Sounds strange but it is true :)

Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Everything looks very good, I love turmeric and ginger ... it gives a special flavor to the food. I also see something special that I love ... Alfalfa, I like to place it on all my dishes when you can buy it.
The dessert should be rich, the combination of cocoa and coconut hmmmm .. spectacular !!!

Thank you very much, @blessed-girl! Alfalfa are also my favourite sprouts! I buy seeds and grow them at home in a glass jar.

wao that cool ... I do not know if they sell seeds here to germinate ... Only the one that is already packed to eat and is very expensive.

That looks soo tasty! Although I'm suspicious, since I'm an asian food fan :)

Congratulations @danielapetk! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 500 replies. Your next target is to reach 600 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

it all looks so good I to used to be a fast food junkie but now I very seldom have fast food trying to eat healthier these days

wow it looks so delicious my friend..
How is it in test??

Dear danielapetk:

We are SteemBet, the next generation STEEM based gaming platform. We are honored to invite you to join our first fantastic dice game, which is just the beginning of SteemBet game series. Our dividend system has now launched. The prize pool has already accumulated 2,000 STEEM and more than 60 players have participated in staking mining token SBT. A huge reward of 40,000 STEEM is awaiting! Join us NOW with other 500 STEEM users to loot HUGE dividend reward!!

SteemBet Team

Official Website
https://steem-bet.com

Discord Server
https://discord.gg/95cBN3W

Telegram Group
https://t.me/steembet

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75