RECIPE: Easy Refrigerator PicklessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago (edited)

pickeles

I absolutely love pickles of all kinds. I make canned pickles occasionally but it’s a lot of work to can anything. The batch is usually large and takes the better part of the day and you also have to wait awhile to enjoy the end result (for pickles anyway which need to "pickle" for a few months).

When I discovered that I could make pickles to store in the refrigerator in a small batch, I was elated! They are super cheap to make and you can use all the fancy organic veggies and spices you want with no preservatives. If you have looked at the grocery store, it's hard to find pickles that are made without preservatives and with organic ingredients and if you do find some, they are expensive. The good news is, not only are these cheap and easy, but they will put to shame what you've been buying.

Step 1
Slice up your veggies - whatever veggies you think are good pickled, work.
For this batch, I used:
2 cucumbers
1 onion
1 green pepper
I sliced everything really thin and put it all in a bowl

veggies

Step 2
Add ingredients for the brine to a small pot and bring to a boil.
3 cups water
1.5 cups white vinegar
1.5 cups cider vinegar
2 Tbsp dill
1 Tbsp dried onion
1 Tbsp garlic powder
1 tsp peppercorns
1 tsp turmeric
1 Tbsp sugar (you can do 1/4 cup for really sweet pickles)
2 tsp salt (optional, I didn’t use it this time)

brine

Step 3
When the brine reaches a boil, turn off the stove and let it stop bubbling (just a few seconds). Grab some hot pads and pour the brine into the bowl with the veggies.

pickles

That’s it. Let it cool before putting it in the refrigerator. I usually transfer mine to mason jars because I like to mason jar all the things.

This will keep in the refrigerator for about a week. Maybe longer but we wouldn't know about that. :)

@Deanna2000 - More about me? See my Intro Post.

Sort:  

Nice. My wife loves things like this. I'm going to show her this article in the morning. Thank you. ~Cheers~

Yay! If she tries it, let me know how it goes.

Follow me. I already followed you...I like all of your posts

Haha, well alright! Followed. :)

Hi deanna2000
Also, since I am just really starting, and we all need a helping hand, I am going to start, daily, looking at the Blogs of my Followers, finding things I like that are over one day old and less than a month old, then upvoting them and resteeming them. I would ask you to do the same for me. This way, we all get continual exposure. That is what we all need, right? I am staring today. I will look at your Blog and resteem and upvote the ones I like.

I like that idea! I'm traveling for a few days but I'm going to put a reminder on my calendar to do this. :)

I already resteemed one for you, and about 50 others in good faith, so please scroll down the page to the bottom of my blog, unless you see newer posts from me that you like. Only a handful have decided it was a good idea, and not wanting to completely obliterate my home page, I have decided to only resteem those participating with me (unless I see really, REALLY good content somewhere else). I will put you on my list for" daily resteems of good content" when you let me know that you are back and are participating. Please only resteem MY content on my Blog, and only what you feel is worthy of being seen again...Okey-dokey? ~Cheers~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66