How to Make a Basil Gimlet - The Nerd Salon Drink #1

in #food7 years ago

Every month I throw a small get together at my home called, The Nerd Salon. As part of each event, guests bring either homemade food or the ingredients for a cocktail.

The cocktails they bring go on a menu and each guest makes the cocktail they brought for anyone who wants one.

One of the great things about hosting The Nerd Salon is that each month I practice making a different cocktail. This month the cocktail is a Basil Gimlet that I make with my own homegrown basil.

I thought it would be fun - each month - to share how each drink is made with the Steemit community.

JPEG image-DEB707B427D5-1.jpeg

Basil Gimlet

Ingredients:

4 Large Basil Leaves
1/2 Oz. Simple Syrup
3/4 Oz. Lime Juice (Fresh Squeezed)
1 1/2 Oz. Gin

Step 1: Choose 4 Large Basil Leaves.

JPEG image-C8B687CC6A65-1.jpeg

Step 2: Press 3 Basil Leaves in a cocktail Shaker.

Press lightly!

JPEG image-593A8621C560-1.jpeg

Step 3: Add 1/2 Oz. Simple Syrup.

Buy it or make it yourself.

JPEG image-4435D9152096-1.jpeg

Step 4: Add 3/4 Oz. Lime Juice.

Fresh Squeezed is better, but I've also made it with those little green bottles of lime juice.

JPEG image-0E1E417F8073-1.jpeg

Step 5: Add 1 1/2 Oz. Gin.

For this specific drink, I used an Old Tom Gin.

JPEG image-AA2293DE9C01-1.jpeg

Step 6: Add Ice and Shake.

JPEG image-53A3B3F254EB-1.jpeg

Step 7: Strain

JPEG image-99A31F12DCC4-1.jpeg

Step 8: Add The Last Basil Leaf and Drink!

JPEG image-DF71F0CCA236-1.jpeg

Step 9: Enjoy!

This is the best step.

IMG_2440.JPG


Thanks for Reading!

Decimus


Do you have a cocktail recipe to share or an improvment?
Let me know

Sort:  

Great quality photos and really well written. Now following you.

That looks awesome @decimus

I will try share some nice photo from here in Thailand on the drinks.

Hope it taste awesome. I would not say no to a taste.

Sunrise coming here and that one will be perfect for sleep.

please keep share, i will upvote your post

Also dont forget to follow me at @mrstaf

Best regards

Thanks -- I'll take a look at your posts!

Super your recipe. It makes you want to try. Unfortunately I do not have the ingredients on hand. In any case very good your article. Good job

Thanks @izbing -- appreciate the kind words!

Nice bro looks like you have a bar in your home complete tools of bartender, soon am gonna share some drinks for you bro, I like to try this basil look nerd.

I love this! Let's steemit!

upvoted make sure follow me and upvote my post if you like https://steemit.com/steemit/@vegeto/steemit-for-beginners-upvoting-strategy

@nabendu - Fair warning, if you copy your post in a person's comments section looking for visibility, it's likely to get flagged! I encourage you to keep on Steeming but don't post irrelevant links looking for upvotes. Cheers!

Looks like a great tasting drink & healthy too!

Little basil fact: "Its a Immune System Booster! Basil contains apigenin, which is a bioflavonoid generally found in leafy plants and vegetables and contributes to a healthy immune system. Be sure to include basil in your diet, especially during the winter months."

basil leaf on white bg   Google Search.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67751.96
ETH 3530.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.16