How To Make Healthy Homemade Hummus in 5 Minutes with only 5 Ingredients

in #food6 years ago

This healthy homemade hummus uses 5 ingredients and takes less than 5 minutes to make. It has a delicious balance of flavours, it's creamy and also packed with protein. 🌱💪

Hummus is a great way to help curb your appetite if you’re on a diet. The fibre and protein in the chickpeas both have a high satiety value, meaning they keep you full for longer. There is also a whopping 39 grams of protein in one can of chickpeas. That’s double the amount of protein in a block of tofu!

You can spread this homemade hummus on toast, use it as a dip for chips or in wraps for some extra protein.

hummus-min.jpg

Ingredients

  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 1/4 cup tahini
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 clove garlic
  • salt to taste

Optional Ingredients

  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon ground paprika

Method

  • Drain and rinse the can of chickpeas.
  • Reserve 2 tablespoons of the liquid.
  • Add the chickpeas, tahini, olive oil, lemon juice and garlic to your food processor and blitz.
  • Slowly add the reserved chickpea liquid until the desired consistency is reached.

Serve and enjoy!

How do you like to have your hummus? Do you make yours at home or use store-bought hummus?

This is also my second entry to the last week of the #veganuarycontest, created by the @lolzwithlisa. To learn more about the contest click here.

💻 Check out our blog for more healthy plant based recipes

📸 We're also on Instagram

Sort:  

This recipe looks so simple! I usually have these ingredients around my house so I will have to make it! I made hummus once and it didn't turn out very well, but this one looks fool proof!

It really is and it's so easy to make it exactly how you like it 😆 I hope it comes out well!

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 32.48% Upvote

Yum!! I love Hummus!! :D

Isn't it the best? 😱 I always have a tub of this in the fridge, I can never get enough 😂

Hummus is life.

Truer words have never been spoken 😂 🙏

Hummus + tahini! Oh my goodness!!!!

Tahini tastes very strange on it's own but works wonderfully with chickpeas somehow! 😂 thanks for checking it out @janmarini 🌱

I eat my hummus with potato chips which unfortunately cancels out any of it’s health benefits :(

Hahah that's OK @vegancore 😂 at least you get the goodness of the hummus in 🌱

I love hummus so much! I usually make a fat-free version coz I'm on a low-fat diet, howevery I like it anyways. Sometimes just plain, sometimes with some herbs or spinach. So easy to make and very delicious :)

How do you make it fat-free? I am always looking to make my recipes healthier.

Well, I just skip the oil, and use very small amount of tahini. I make it creamy with plantbased milk. It's not like the traditional hummus, but I like the taste, and I can eat it without restrictions :) Sometimes I add some extra flavour, for example spinach or roasted red pepper, etc.

I’ve made my own hummus before. It’s so easy and delicious! Def gonna RS this!

thanks. i would eat that hummus

Congratulations @deliciousplants! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73