You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Roadside BOILED PEANUTS Down In Virginia, And Why They Are AMAZING

in #food7 years ago

Great post and I couldn't agree more! Boiled peanuts are a nearly forgotten Southern treat. Seriously, once you discover this take on peanuts you'll get addicted to not just boiling them but growing them so you can boil them in different ways. Haha oh and tidbit for you here, they freeze! So you can go back to said dude, rack up and throw those suckers in the freezer. ;-) oh and last thought I feel ya on the mushrooms on phone thing. I had someone recently make me aware that I had more images of mushrooms than of my kids on my phone. Hmmm

Sort:  

Haha - i don't have kids yet, but I definitely had more mushrooms than pictures of my wife or I on vacation until i recently culled some older ones.

It's funny, my mind went to growing the peanuts as well, although my balcony is probably insufficient :(

But that would particularly awesome because you could harvest them when they're still green. Or, apparently, even younger, when the shell is also edible?

As for the freezing, that's really good to know cause i plan on buying some raw peanuts on the way home tonight and boiling them up in the slow cooker

I'm not sure you'd ever want to eat the pod on a peanut honestly...ever. But some people are using the hulls as a mushroom growing substrate!! Most boiled peanuts are harvested earlier than roasting peanuts but both still have a pretty long growing season. This is where you get the 'green' peanut. It's harvested earlier and the hull of the bean has not yet fully darkened....but it's the hull not the shell. The shell to my knowledge is always hard and yuck to try to chew, more like a nut than a bean in that aspect....hence their name.

So, interesting twist - I've also eaten peanuts in yet another bizarre form - and it connects perfectly back to our other comment thread: deep fried peanuts! They sold them on Woot years ago, I bought them, and I ate them, shell and all. And , although super super greasy, the shells were like crunchy chips and fairly delicious and digestible.

Oh wow! That sounds great!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68316.98
ETH 3856.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65