You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My first homemade smoothie #HOMEMADE:BLOG1

in #food6 years ago

Yay! My boyfriend gifted me with one of those too!

That's a great start, but if I may make a suggestion, I would recommend including plenty of vegetables into your smoothies. Fruit contains a lot of sugar, and where that sugar is not necessarily bad for you, it is possible to have too much too quickly and cause a blood sugar spike. Eating the fruit whole burns more calories with the action of chewing, and it slows the process of sugar entering the blood stream so that it is more of a steady flow, rather than an abrupt sugar rush.

To remedy this problem, I make a conscious effort to only include as much fruit as I can eat in one sitting, were I to chew it. I have a tiny stomach, though, so that I means I'm blending only half a banana and half of an apple. I can't eat more than one piece of fruit at a time, so it doesn't make sense to try to drink more than that.

The rest of the smoothie should consist of dark leafy greens and vegetables. Sometimes I'll toss in a few nuts, too.

You've inspired me to make a post with more detail! In the meantime, I'll share with you the smoothie I'm having for my breakfast today:

2 leaves romaine lettuce
1 stalk celery
3 inch chunk of cucumber
about a golf-balll size amount of fresh parsley
1/2 ripe banana (it's important that your bananas be RIPE for maximum nutritional value)
1 tbs frozen wild blueberries
3-5 oz coconut water, depending on how runny or thick you want your smoothie

Sort:  

Thanks for the feedback and information :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67098.14
ETH 3518.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20