Some Home Cooking

in #food6 years ago

I am not much of a cook, but I'll make something on occasion. I like to chop stuff and be a cook helper though, otherwise I take a long time to slowly follow recipes or just be slow in general at shuffling ingredients around. So perfect for times when there's no rush to cook. But anyway, sharing some things I happened to make recently.

IMG_20180605_095039.jpg

I like nice and simple. This is simply a poached egg on smoked salmon on a toasted muffin. It's missing a yellow sauce that would make it a Benedict but I didn't have the ingredients for it. (Well, actually I did for one variant so the real excuse is laziness).

Turns out I like it without the creamy yellow sauce anyway.

IMG_20180609_175920.jpg

Rice 'n' stuff.

In this one I handled the tempura battered pan fried flounder. And this turned out also to be pretty simple. Pat and dry some fish (we started from frozen flounder filets from Costco, so that needed defrosting as well).

I found this tempura powder from long long ago. Actually there's a date printed on it that's at least a year old, but I figured it was probably still fine... (Yes I'm here, so it's fine). Just add water, and stir it up. Fish goes in, one side, then the other, and onto a generously oiled and heated pan. Ours is a cast iron pan, and the oil was just enough to barely coat the pan with a thin layer.

Probably this would have been better with a splatter screen. Few minutes on each side and it was ready to go. Nice and crispy, and the fish inside soft and flaky. I'm very excited it turned out well because I was expecting the worst. But now I should be able to reproduce it.

Yes, this is really a post with two random food pictures with a smattering of blabbering. Bon appetit!

Sort:  

So when ico? ;)
Anyway those are pretty cooling look food right their. Well better eat something now

Lol ICO. The last thing on my mind with this post. Maybe I'll post something crypto related haha. Well there's eon coin and aeon coin apparently. Shrugs

Your famous eon :)

I like when meals are simple too! That second meal looks really delish!! I love fish but can’t cook it here at home because our 8 year daughter is highly allergic to it. So I always love seeing pictures of it. Thanks for sharing ~

Oh darn! My friend tells me that you can get close to the taste of salmon sashimi if you eat soy sauce + avocado haha... It's kinda true.

Oh wow I didn’t know that. Thanks for the tip! Lol

Yes, this is really a post with two random food pictures with a smattering of blabbering. Bon appetit!

You're cracking me up!

Food looks delicious! But what is the orange tube of stuff on the side of the first picture? Some condiment? or random sunsreen or what?

You're making me hungry!
~T

Ah you found the secret Easter egg that I was hoping not to have to explain hahaha. It's actually a salmon paste from Iceland. It wasn't actually needed for the meal. Goes well on crackers though.

It's where's Waldo the food version 🤣

I have some anchovies in a paste like that. Nothing like fish in a tube to make your day!

Yum that looks delicious!!

Hey you may say you're not a cook but I would have no problem eating at your table, the food looks absolutely delicious and the presentation is pretty good as well.

All it takes is a passion of cooking and the motivation to learn and practice and you will be amazed at what you can create in your kitchen. If you don't mind me asking what exactly is in the silver bowl on the right in the second picture it looks very appetizing and I would like to try it if you don't mind sharing your recipe of course.
Thank you for posting about your meals, you have truly made me hungry lol :)

Thanks! You are very kind. The second picture silver bowl? Glad you asked!

Trader Joe's Kung Pao Chicken

Not sure if you have a Trader Joe's where you are.

So actually that one was a take from freezer throw on the pan kind of deal. Still was pretty tasty though! :)

No I'm afraid I don't have a Trader Joe's around where I live, I have heard about Trader Joe's several times though. Thank you for telling me in the future if I travel and by some chance run across a Traders Joe's I may have to stop and try out their Kung Pao Chicken. I'm new to the steemit community, I've actually only been on here for maybe 3 hours and you are the first person to reply to my comments, I want to thank you for that. I hope you have a good evening and I cant wait to see future meals from your kitchen! :)

You are welcome! Be on the lookout for communities on steemit, there's a lot of groups that run discord servers. And there's people chatting away on https://steem.chat as well (Not the same login as steem). I have the same login name there though, you are welcome to reach out.

Also I think one you make your into post I believe there's a lot of groups that should welcome you as well.

If you're interested, this is one of the discords I'm in (crypto empire): https://discord.gg/9RYjdQB

This is a newbie friendly server (newbie resteem): https://discord.gg/FtgpA4k

Welcome to Steem(it)!

Is this home cooked meal decentralized?

Hmm. How to answer....

No?

Since the sewer isn't decentralized, I'm going to go with no. But eventually... In like a million years... Yes?

Ah well.

not smattering at all! rice and stuff are my thing.

Oh yes, so versatile!

You definitely prepared a gorgeous meal. I had tried once some smoked salmon with poached egg. Although it's not common in our country seems I'm looking to get a taste of it again. That pan fried fishlooks tasty and perfectly cooked.

Yeah the fish was great. I gotta cook it again soon. Cravings.

The food looks good @eonwarped. You did nice job in arranging the table.

Thanks! It was good

whaaa whoaa when I come "home" to visit you are so cooking for me!! that looks so so good OMG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99