How to prepare Atama soup

in #food6 years ago

Hello steemians, welcome to my blog

Yay!!! I'm super excited today because I learnt to cook a new type of soup. So I tasted this soup at a neighbor's, and I was bent on learning it, right now I'm super proud of myself😊. I was unable to take pictures due to low picture quality, and as at the time I was done it was late, so I'll be sharing pictures I got on Instagram.

Atama soup is a popular soup in the south-south region of Nigeria, Akwa ibom to be precise. After learning how to prepare this tasty dish, I decided to share with my steemit FAM😍.

RECIPES

image
Image source : Instagram(payporte food store)

Atama leaves
Palm fruit
Beef
Cow skin (pomo)
Stockfish head
Crayfish
Periwinkle
Smoked fish
Pepper
Seasoning
Salt

PS: Atama is quite different from the leave in this picture

PREPARATION

Wash and boil the palm fruits for about 30 minutes, drain off the water, and pound till you're able to separate the palm fruit fibre from the nut

Boil some water, and add to the pounded palm fruit, mash with your hands thoroughly until you're able to squeeze out the oil. Use a sieve to separate the oily extract from the palm fruit and its fibre

Wash your already sliced meat,add seasoning, and salt, allow it steam for about 5 minutes, add your stock fish, smoked fish, cow skin, stir well, and allow it steam for about 15-20 minutes, then remove from heat.

Slice the atama leaves into very fine pieces, and soak in hot water.

Boil the periwinkle with salt

Allow the oily extract to boil for about 5-10 minutes. Add the cooked meat,meat stock, smoked fish, and cow skin into the oily extract, add crayfish, pepper, your boiled periwinkle, add seasoning and salt to taste.

Stir and allow to boil for 10 minutes, add the atama leaves and boil till it thickens, remove from heat
It can be served with Eba, fufu, semovita.

image

Image source: Instagram

Thanks for stopping by, I hope you find this helpful
Upvote , resteem😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62802.08
ETH 2941.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59