Jackfruit Burger and Fries

in #food5 years ago

jackfruit burger and fries.jpg

Hello everyone! Thanks for stopping by. It's been quite a while since I've posted something other than games, as my photography focus has shifted to more physical printing and trying to get some distribution set up. But more on that coming soon! As for now, welcome to what my weekends look like. I love having extra time on the weekends to eat, eat and eat!

Lately I've been craving something I could really sink my teeth into. But being a vegan in South Korea really limits your options as far as eating out. These days I'm quite picky as it's pretty safe to assume, most things you by at the store or cafe have sugar and other added unnecessary ingredients. So let me tell you what I'm working with.

First of all, everything in this meal is homemade. Well, I guess just two main parts, the buns and the fries.

The buns are simple enough to make and I actually used a recipe that I use to make pizza dough as well.

3 cups flour (usually ends up being more. I used a mixture of whole grain wheat flour as well as an all purpose)
2 tsp yeast
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 1/4 water or more

Mix all that together, cover it and let it rise for an hour or so

Next, pinch off some pieces and shape them how you like and pop them in the oven
218 c/ 420f- probably could be a tad higher thoughhomemade buns.jpg

I cooked the jackfruit in a frying pan with onions, mushrooms (not pictured) black pepper and the occasional dash of liquid smoke for hickory flavor
jackfruit.jpg

Fries are my favorite and easily done. Chop and slice a couple potatoes and fry them in the pan. Sometimes I throw some onions in there too :) Season with freshly crushed black pepper.

fries.jpg

One of the greatest things I enjoy about a vegan lifestyle (other than the health benefits) is that it has helped me to become more creative in the kitchen. Learning, experimenting and trying new things is a wonderful journey both in the kitchen and in life! So, don't knock it until you try it :)

Here's a little bonus shot of another topped burger with homemade tomato sauce and nutritional yeast flakes for a cheesy/nutty flavor.

burger.jpg

Thank you all for stopping by. Have a wonderful morning noon or night, wherever you may be.

Sort:  

My kind of burger - cruelty-free, tasty and delicious yumyumyum

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93