Salted fish + Waterspinach and Quail eggs + Homemade sambal

in #food6 years ago

20180707_164852.jpg

Yesterday I made water spinach with quail eggs together with some side dishes. These are what we eat in Indonesia. I also made my own sambal/ chilli sauce.

20180707_165001.jpg

This is Tumis Kangkung, spicy waterspinach with quail eggs. The water spinach we call Kang Kung and is imported from Thailand. It looks similar to the spinach we know but this is more crunchy and has a nice bite.

20180707_164925.jpg

I didn't eat salted fish for a very long time. Too long actually. This is salted dried anchovy. They are very salty so you better eat it in small pieces together with rice. I prefer a different fish but this was the only available one at that time.

20180707_164940.jpg

Homemade chilli sauce! This is called Sambal Terasi. I never thought I would make my own chilli sauce and guess what? It tastes so good! So much better than those chilli sauce from the Asian grocery shop. This chilli sauce goes very well together with the salted fish.

20180707_165012.jpg

The last side dish is fried tempeh. Tempeh is made of soy beans. Great to dip it in the homemade sambal. Of course we eat all these with rice, otherwise it would taste salty and weird. Just think of eating only the top of your pizza or just the spaghetti sauce without the pasta. Weird right?

Ingredients Tumis Kangkung

kangkung.png

18 quail eggs
400 gram kang kung/water spinach
1 large tomato
5 cloves of garlic
2 large onions
4 red rawit peppers
1 Maggi chicken broth
150 ml water

Instructions

20180707_140620-side.jpg

Boil quail eggs in water, salt and vinegar for 5 minutes. Cool down the eggs in cold water and peel them.

20180707_150301-side.jpg

Wash and drain kangkung and cut the kangkung into 5 cm length. Mince garlic and onions. Cut the rawit chilli peppers in pieces.

20180707_150648-side.jpg

Heat a wok with sunflower oil and stir fry onions, garlic, tomato, chicken broth and rawit chilli peppers till for about 15 minutes or till it is fragrant.

20180707_152711.jpg

Add kangkung first and stir fry for 10 minutes. Add the quail eggs at the end and stir fry for another 5 minutes.

Ingredients Sambal Terasi

fvxv.png

0,5 table spoon shrimp paste
1 large tomato
4 table spoon raw chilli paste
1 table spoon lemon or lime juice

Instructions

bgdfvc.jpg

Heat a small pan with sunflower oil and stir fry the tomato pieces for 5 minutes. Add the remaining ingredients and stir fry for 30 minutes.

Side dishes

20180707_153521-side.jpg

Cut the tempeh in slices and fry them in deep oil till light brown. Drain them on a paper napkin and sprinkle a bit of salt.

20180707_153215-side.jpg

Wash the salty fish and dry then. fry them in deep oil for only 1,5 minute. Drain them on a paper napkin. Cook pandan or jasmine rice in a rice cooker.

20180707_165708.jpg

20180707_165608.jpg

20180707_165628.jpg

Yuuuuummmm!!!

This dish has so many things going on! Veggies, eggs, tempeh, salted dried fish and sambal! You just don't know where to start, where to look at! I didn't know what I wanted to put on my spoon first. I started with rice, veggies and a piece of fish, but I also wanted a piece of egg , tempeh and sambal on my spoon, but they just don't fit all on 1 spoon! :-D. I tried to put a bit of everything on my spoon but they fell off my spoon LOL!

Sort:  

That looks tasty and healthy, would like to try that fish i mean is not a common dish and looks very different of how people do it in my country. Regards

thank you! yes,its not common :-) but it is tasty . you too regards!

All in one ;)

Looks pretty healthy and delicious as well !

Hello @fathin-shihab, I would also do the same, a little bit of everything, but I know that it falls, then, I will make the recipe, and I will eat vegetables, fish, and rice, this is my priority, then the rest.
Blessings :)

Thank you and you too blessings :-)

Everything mixed super delicious dish's recipe sharing by you @fathin-shihab. You doing awesome chef lessons there. Nice photo shots took still making dish.

yes, it is a mix of many things. Thank you!

Yummyyyyyyy wow the presentation first of all is on point superb i would say the most interesting dish ever :D

Thank you dear! thats very sweet of you ;-)

Wow! So awesome recipe my dear friend @fathin-shihab. I really loved it. 🤗😍 I will definitely try it.

Thanks for sharing this post. 💚

Have a glorious day!

You're welcome! you too :-)

The vegetable food I know from Asia, it is so tasty and I eat it many times. Missing it now, in the time when I am in Germany, during visiting my Familie

you've eaten it too? yes, it is very tasty! I can imagine you miss the food while you're now in Germany :-).

Gosh I became hungry! Damn you! Great photos btw ;)

hehehe! Yes, I am also getting hungry now after looking at these images, even though I just ate :-D. Thank you!

Can you come and cook for me? =)

@fathin-shihab You have received a 100% upvote from @steembynight because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95