My fantastic Lebanese dinner at "El Barroco" (Cadaqués, Spain)! #23

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Hi my foodies!

After telling you about my discoveries and research on gluten, milk and dairy products, here is an article that should make you happy with lactose-free and gluten-free food. Before I tell you about my original culinary experience, here is a short summary of why this subject is important to me ...

I am 30 years old and I am "multi intolerant" to gluten, glucose, lactose, baking powder, cocoa, caffeine, alcohol ... I can not eat much or not at all for some foods... Crazy life, right?! 😅

But, I will prove to you that it is possible to have food intolerances and to eat healthy and tasty things! I want to share with you my gastronomic discoveries and recipes compatible with a "special diet" or simply with a "normal diet" (amazing, no ?!). Even if you are not intolerant, taking care of your body and diet is necessary to make you feel good ... 😋


🌱 My fantastic Lebanese dinner at "El Barroco" 🌱

The history of our restaurant is inextricably linked with the name of the famous artist. Salvador Dali spent the summer months in Cadaques every year, several times a week he always went to dinner in our restaurant, where he enjoyed hospitality, a pleasant atmosphere and fine cuisine. In 1978, the painter personally created the logo of EL BARROCO.
source

When I went to visit Cadaqués this weekend, I took the opportunity to test this surprising restaurant that I found thanks to "Happy Cow".

If you do not know yet the application "Happy Cow", I recommend it because it is a great help when traveling and looking for a vegan or vegetarian restaurant! In a few seconds, this application geolocates you and show you all vegan, vegetarian restaurants around you. There are the coordinates of the restaurant, the distance to where you are, schedules, photos ... Happy Cow is my best friend XD!

This restaurant attracted me when I saw the photos of its inner open-courtyard and when I arrived in front, I did not believe my eyes! This painted door to the Dalí Efigie is just amazing! And the vegetation around it makes it even more beautiful!

You too are under the spell, isn't it? Wait to see his inner courtyard ...

This place is magical, it invites to travel and daydream ... Hardly having crossed the threshold of the door I already felt in Lebanon.
We were welcomed by the owner of the restaurant, who in addition to being smiling and pleasant, speaks several languages perfectly including French. He showed us the map on which everything looked delicious! There was a large number of vegetarian and vegan dishes as well as meat and fish.

bitmoji-20180528102059.png

We ordered several Mezés to share. These are small portions a little like tapas, hot or cold.

Here are the Mezés you've tasted:

  • Hummus, which is made from chickpea cream and sesame oil. It's a classic but it's so good! = D

  • Mousaka is a preparation based on eggplant, chickpeas, tomatoes and onions. A real treat!

  • Hamra, a tasty cream of red pepper and nuts. To eat on Lebanese bread is excellent!

  • Falafels which are fried chickpea croquettes, beans, garlic, onion and spices. A tasty mix!

  • M'dardra is a preparation of lentils, rice, crowned with onions and toasted almonds. It was one of my favorites!

For desserts, we tested:

  • Tyn bil Joz, a blend of candied figs with nuts.

  • A homemade sorbet with blackberry and passion fruit sprinkled with crushed pistachios. I have never eaten a homemade ice cream as good in all my life !!! It seemed to eat the fresh fruit so the taste was pronounced ...

And of course, to finish in beauty we ordered mint teas. The plus of the house is the rose water that they add to their tea and that gives them a really delicious taste! I will try at home =).

In summary, if you want to discover a magical place both for its decor and its cuisine, I recommend El Barroco 200%! The service is impeccable, the food very good and homemade and the setting is just fantastic! You will not be disappointed friends, word of flamingo ^^. This is where the words of the great French writer Honoré de Balzac:

"Lebanese cuisine is a delight not only for the stomach, but for the eyes."

📌 Contact:

El Barroco

Pla d'enretalla, 2, 17488

Cadaques, Girona, Spain.

+34 972 258 632
+34 644 258 600

Monday to Sunday
13:00 am - 15:00 pm

19:30 am - 22:00 pm

http://elbarroco.net/en/

I hope you enjoyed reading my article.
If you want to know more about the fishing village of Cadaqués, I invite you to read my article Visit with me! #28 - Cadaqués (Catalonia, Spain)

Feel free to support me and UPVOTE, COMMENT and RESTEEM my article! It's always nice ^^.

See you soon for a new culinary discovery my friends! <3

🎀 FlaminGirl 🎀 with love ...

Sort:  

Beautiful .. look delicious , good for you
Great post from you
Thanks for sharing..

Looks like a great place! Best wishes from Germany again.

I had visited Spain couple of times. Next time i will definitely go to this restaurant. May be in October.

By the way i am a traveler so you may like my travel blog too. Travel Series (Part #3) St. Lucia Iceland, A Romantic Getaway

this is food is the same in morocco if you come to morocco you will like it
u welcomeDVVK4973[1].jpg

What a glorious looking place @flamingirl! And that sorbet is to die for!!! Sorbet is my favourite!!! 😍

excellent photos, the restaurant looks quite cozy and the food is delicious. It makes you want to eat

That food that you present to us, it looks very delicious, a great variety of dishes, but what I like most is the place where you enjoyed it, it looks really beautiful. What a good friend, I send you a great greeting.

Wooos amazing, really i wish💖

Ummm it´s look deliciousssss....Thanks for share, I invited you to visit my blog @mjoa
Regards

Hmm Spain food looks good. Wow, are you a vegetarian @flamingirl?

Que hermoso lugar, me encanto lo cálido del lugar y la comida se ve deliciosa... Gracias por compartir la información tanto del restaurant como la aplicación, aunque no soy intolerante a nada me encantan los vegetales y me encanta hacer recetas de vegetales para acompañarlos con las proteínas... Saludos..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66