Check out my new Kale drying rack!

in #food6 years ago

Re-purposing the old satellite dish again for more food preservation.


IMG_20180713_124016596.jpg

I have had this dish around for years now and have used it for a number of things but this is probably the best use I have come up with for it. I have been using sliding glass door screens for my drying but I needed a lot more room. In my ruminating over the possible solution, my mind hit upon the dish. It was put off to the side out of view so was not present in my mind right away.

This morning I went and dug it out and found it to be covered in fir needles, grass, weeds, and detritus so it got a got brushing and I also hit it with the air compressor to blow the garbage out of the cracks. It sits perfectly on top of one of my large 30 gallon nursery pots, allowing me enough space to reach the middle of the dish. It's an 8 foot diameter mesh C-Band satellite dish that a client from landscaping days let me have.

IMG_20180713_105609539.jpg

I have 3 rows of kale and the only one to be getting bugs so far is the Lacinto, but the Bolshoi and Tronchuda have no bugs. I have checked the plants extensively so am comfortable not washing the leaves since there are minimal bugs. A little bit ago I started on one end of the Bolshoi row and just stripped the leaves from the stalks without removing them. Toss them in the bin and continue down the row until the bin was full near the end of the row. I spread them all out and the full bin worth just fully covered the dish as you can see at the top.

Quick aside:
Yesterday evening I went out and stripped the leaves from the Lacinto kale and tossed it onto the screen door and window screen to let it sit overnight so it would be getting the full light of today since it is the hottest day this week. You can see the screens in the upper right of the pic above.

IMG_20180713_122832645_HDR.jpg

My first batches of dried kale were done on the screen doors. There is a significantly smaller amount of surface area for me to lay kale, but it is still a large space. Between a number of screens, I am able to dry a pretty significant amount of kale at a time.

IMG_20180712_151725874_HDR.jpg

This is the other screen from the first batch.

IMG_20180712_151730043.jpg

1/2 pound of DRIED kale!

This is just from the first batch of kale dried on the screen door and window screen. That is a 2 gallon ziplock bag in my hand so it is a good volume as well as weight. If the first batch is any indication I should be able to get at least 2 pounds or fully dried kale, maybe even 3 pounds before the bugs take over the plants.

IMG_20180713_102758791.jpg

Check out my blog @flemingfarm

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, following, or setting us to autovote on SteemAuto!


Sort:  

Very cool idea! Thanks for sharing your creativity for your homestead!
Ivy

That dish is perfect for drying! I love the repurposing of technology for something more primitive!

That’s an awesome reuse!

Hello @flemingfarm, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95