Bento bowl (vegan) - Fruits and veggies monday

in #food6 years ago

HKM_6161.JPG

Some might say that bento bowls are in trend right now, maybe even a tad pretentious. Just to get things straight, I think stuffing a big, pretty bowl with a heap of salad and then sticking the word ‘bento’ before it just because you serve it with chopsticks is kind of cheating because it’s just hyping up a bowl of flipping salad. In addition, a bowl is such a cop out if you’re under the impression you’re getting a home-cooked meal (as I once experienced at a friend’s house who invited me over for ‘dinner’). Though admittedly, I can’t always be arsed either, so a 'bowl' meal still has it's uses, and very convenient ones at that.

HKM_6163.JPG

You might say I’m being hypocritical since I’ve gone and made one such bowl myself after just insulting the very basis of it, however, what I will do to justify me calling it a bento bowl is stick tofu, rice and pickled vegetables in, because after all, it does originate from Japan where a single portion would typically be contained within a convenient take-away box.

The word bento refers to an individual’s meal, not one that is to be shared, and I like that concept because when I have food I love, I really don’t want to share it, so it’s okay to be selfish!
By the way, I’m not showing off with my ingredients, but since I’m in China and no longer in England, I want to make the most of the exotic fruits here so that’s what’s going in my bowl.

HKM_6158.JPG

I haven’t written quantities because that will depend on a number of factors:
a) how greedy you are
b) how much you love salad (maybe you want less of the stuff)
c) how big your bowl is
d) how many bowls you want to make (for others, or just for yourself, I’m not judging!)

Serving size:
Serves 1

Ingredients for salad:
• Pickled cucumber
• Pickled ginger
• Dragon fruit
• Mango
• Rice
• Pan fried tofu
• Carrot
• Apple

Ingredients for dressing:
• 1tbsp soy sauce
• 1tbsp agave nectar
• 1tbsp rice vinegar
• 2 cloves garlic crushed
• 1tsp ginger crushed

Method:

  1. Cut all vegetables in a not-so-ordinary or lazy way (or you can go for bog standard chopping if you’re not into the
    fancy stuff)
  2. Arrange everything nicely in the bowl (or box if you’re being really traditional)

Now you can enjoy

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-16T09:52:06
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 78.00/100.00
Total Photos: 12
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

looks really delicious 👍

I like healthy food.... and I'm looking forward to more recipes👌

👋🤗 THX You

You are welcome @bellaibiza :-)

thank you very much.... I like your recipes .... gives me new ideas 👍

I love all the bento food

I'm happy with anything in a bowl--a delicious home-cooked meal or simple salad. As long as it's a big enough bowl then I'm happy. That dragon fruit looks fantastic! :)

Thanks @planstoplanks- ha right with you on the size of the bowl! I’m not usually a dragon fruit fan but with a bit of lime squeezed on it, total transformation!

Japanese cuisine is one of my favorites and this bento bowl would be just perfect for lunch today. Beautifully presented delicious and healthy meal. Well done 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68055.12
ETH 3813.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72