#2 Honey cake. Granny style :)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Hello Steemit :) Look that I have for you today ;)

IMG_9558.jpg

This is one of my favorite food ever... I call it "taste from the childhood". I guess everyone of us has this dish. The smell is bringing back to the past and taste make our heart full of love and sweet memories. I tried so many desserts, but this one is special for me.

So let me show you how to bake it. Because you MUST try it. It just so good that i never share it...

For cake like on my first picture (1,5kg) we need

1st is Cream

Butter (room temperature, i ll show that texture should be) 200gr
Sour cream (or normal but very heavy cream) 330gr
Honney 40gr
Sugar (i took zucchero di canna integrale, just because I like this taste, normal sugar is also fine) 60gr
Dulce de leche ( I took Condensed milk, just because I'm annoying X), i boiled it for 5 hours to get a right consistent) 1 can around 400gr

#1 Sugar + Sour cream + Honey mix in one bowl

btw, i use this kind of sugar, but it's optional
IMG_9462.jpg

#2 Butter room temperature. Consistence should be like this:

IMG_9451 (1).jpg

#3 Dulce de leche must be whipped. Colore should be brighter.

IMG_9447.jpgIMG_9449.jpg!

#4 Mix Butter and Dulce de leche in separate bowl, and after mix all ingredients.

IMG_9455.jpg

Cream is ready, cover it, and left in the fridge.

2nd Sponge (more like biscuit) 175C-15min (with fan)

Sugar (optional, as you took for cream) 180gr
Eggs 3
Honey 150gr
Sodium bicarbonate 10gr
Butter 150gr
Wallnut 75gr
Flour 300gr

#1 Blend wallnuts

IMG_9456.jpg

#2 Sugar+Eggs+Honey - mix and add Sodium bicarbonate ( after you add, don't mix it again, just squeeze on top half of lemon)

#3 Add butter ( now consistence doesn't matter, you can take your butter even from the fridge)

#4 Water bath. We need a pan with little bit of water, slow fire, and on top we ll fix our bowl, (water shouldn't touch the bowl). Left it for 15min, sometimes wisk . After 15min mixture going to be bigger.

#5 Add flour and wallnuts, and right after we are going to bake. :)

Make them as fin as possible, I used 2 trays

IMG_9468.jpg

175C-15min
And there it is :) When they ll be cold cut on 3 parts. ( I cuted to show how does it look from inside)

IMG_9499.jpg

3rd Make a cake

When sponge cake is absolutely cold we can start to work with cream.

Some tips... start from the middle and try to cover all dark part, at the same time try to make it straight.

IMG_9503.jpg
IMG_9502.jpg
IMG_9504.jpg

Repeat 3 times and............

IMG_9505.jpg

When cake is ready make sure that cream is covering all sides of your cake ;)

4th Decoration

I just took a pieces of sponge cake that left after cutting and blend it.

IMG_9515.jpg
IMG_9517.jpg

Again as a cream start your work from the middle and cover cake from all sides.

IMG_9519.jpg
IMG_9521.jpg

To be honest, I always left cake for the night in the fridge and make a decoration in the morning. During night cake become very moist and delicious.

And this is how I served it. :P

IMG_9574.jpg
IMG_9577.jpg

Buon Appetite :)

Thank you for watching me and if you have any questions or advices please be welcome.

Sort:  

The layers look great. Nice cake!!!!!
You are part of my "Food By Red Fish" post #8.

Thank you very much 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63313.23
ETH 3079.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89