Baking Basics: How to make BROWN SUGAR

in #food7 years ago

Tired of buying baking basics?? Like brown sugar?!

Look no further folks, because today I'm going to show you how to make it from scratch!

This is SO easy, you won't even need a measuring cup.

First, throw some sugar in a bowl. (I'm using my Kitchen Aid mixer, but any receptical will do.)
006.JPG

Next, drizzle in a few tablespoons worth of molasses. (Molasses is a wonderful sweetener and I recommend EVERYONE stock some!)
011.JPG014.JPG

Now you mix. (Either in a fancy apparatus like this, or by hand.)
015.JPG
019.JPG

Lastly, dump it into a storage container. (This blue-lidded Tupperware container has happily held my family's brown sugar for decades.)
024.JPG

The amount of molasses you use will determine it's darkness. For light brown sugar, use less and for dark brown sugar, use more. :) See? SO EASY!!

Now, if you find yourself in a pickle the night before Thanksgiving and all the stores are already closed, you can still make the perfect pumpkin pie! (Though a little early planning would do the trick too. ;)

As a sign of your appreciation, I'd love it if you'd share this article with all of your potentially unprepared friends. Thanks for stopping by and...

Happy Baking!! :D

Sort:  

Definitely a recipe to know ahead of time if you're in a pinch.
I bet I'm not alone in saying I've run out of brown sugar. I usually replace with regular sugar but now know to add some molasses

It's happened to us all! :D Thanks for reading!

I can’t even count the times that I have started to make cookies, only to realize I had no brown sugar. 🙄 I never knew it was THIS simple!

It's happened to the best of us! :D Thanks for reading!

Wow @freedomacres. This is probably even healthier to make using raw sugar!

With the holidays approaching thank you so much for this tip!

Also, I love granola and never knew that when I mix sugar and molasses, I was making brown sugar. Ha!

Peace.

Raw sugar a wonderful idea! Thanks for sharing! I'll have to try that.. :)

Side note: if you have brown sugar that has turned into a rock, you can put it in the oven on a low temp and it will soften (it melts the molasses).
I do this if I need a lot of it, but admittedly if I just need a couple of spoonfuls for BBQ sauce or something, I beat it with a hammer or against the counter and toss a chunk in the pot. It'll melt as the sauce cooks. 😂

Great tip! Thanks for sharing! :D

Wow! So simple!! Love this! Thank-you so much for sharing.

I'm so glad you found it! :D Thanks for reading!

That's so neat. What else do you use molasses for?

I use it to sweeten oatmeal, granola, and randomly in baking. I use it a lot like honey to mix things up. It's a great iron booster so I bounce between molasses and honey most of the time. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69407.16
ETH 3676.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.26