Earthquake Proofing the Pantry ~ Phase One

in #food7 years ago

Bizarre events worldwide have been increasing at an alarming rate! Natural disasters could strike at any time.

If you follow me on YouTube or Instagram, you know that I grow and can much of our food at home. Very little (at this point) is dehydrated or frozen. As such, one of the worst things that could hit my pantry is an earthquake.
Inventory Day.jpg

Can you imagine the catastrophe that would ensue if we have a major earthquake and I hadn't prepared for one? All those glass jars, full of countless hours of hard work would shatter. SHATTER!!!

Well, I can't let THAT happen!! This week, I set to work preparing my pantry just in case.

First, I saved up a few boxes.
boxes.jpg

Next, I cut my boxes into strips that would fit easily between my jars.
cut boxes.jpg

All that's left is to squeeze the card board between my jars and VIOLA!
cardboard in canning jars.jpg

Now, some brands of jars come with crosshatched cardboard already between the jars. The brand I use does not. The cardboard that comes in those is also very thin. The cardboard boxes most items are shipped in is a much sturdier option.

This is only one of several safe-guards I'd like to implement in my pantry.

What do YOU do to protect your pantry from natural disasters?

I can't wait to read your ideas in the comments! :D

Sort:  

That is a solution right up my alley - free! We don't really deal with natural disasters here. Occasionally we have small floods or a big storm. I can recall two hurricanes in my lifetime (I'm 28-years-old), but most places have electricity etc. back the next day. We're lucky in that regard.

My biggest concern would be health problems or layoffs. We have the financial side covered and will be working on our food storage in the new year. Oh and preventing moths. Pantry moths are frequent in Denmark, especially if you buy organic items.

Yes, FREE is my kind of solution too!
I'm so glad you're working on food storage! It's like having your own in house insurance! ;)

Before I started reading this, when I had seen your headline, I was thinking bubble wrap. lol

But what a good idea.I live in the Midwest and apparently there is a HUGE fault line somewhere around St Louis? We had an earthquake back in the early 1980's and I remember it. I was at work and a bunch of bottle on a shelf were shaking, some fell. In the Midwest... yeah, weird.

That'd take a LOT of bubble wrap!! ;) Yes. From what I understand, it could go any time! Stay safe!

Congratulations @freedomacres! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68804.78
ETH 3766.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49