Back to Food Basics : #2 - Proteins

in #food6 years ago (edited)

I’m a gym rat.

Yes, I like to pump iron from time to time. It helps me balance my stress level out. And with this kind of training comes the food and supplements to go with it. Yes, I am a woman who shakes. I shake my proteins when back from the gym, at my desk, where I prep my proteins. Not to say that all of my colleagues are looking at me in a weird way.

But why do sports people eat or drink proteins ? And how can eating protein help you towards your health and fitness goals ? Let’s find out.

armando-ascorve-morales-202237-unsplash.jpg

What are proteins for and where to find them ?

Their principal function is to help our body renew our muscles, tissus, hair, nails. Our immune system also relies on them to find the strength to fight illnesses.

One of the big misconception we do have, is that protein is meat only. We couldn’t be more wrong. Yes, protein is found in meat, but we can also find multiple sources loads of them being vegetal.

Basically, there are two groups :
Animal proteins : meat, fish, eggs, milk and dairy, shellfish…
Vegetal proteins : Lentils, chickpeas, beans, quinoa, tofu, nuts...

What are proteins made out of ?
Well, to make things simple, proteins are made of tiny proteins called branched-chain amino acids. Out of the 20 that exist, 12 are created by our body with a bit of glucids and a bit of lipids (article about fat coming soon), the remaining 8 are said to be “essential”. They cannot be produced by our body, hence us finding a way to get them in our system through food.
The biggest, baddest, bestest food for amino acids is the egg. He has all 8 essential ones in a perfect ratio. Make it your best friend and you’ll see results fast

What’s the big problem we have with protein these days ?

The problem is global, and we do have a problem with food quantities. If we take the issue down by category, let’s say that when it comes to protein, we have the right quantities.

What we are lacking, is quality. As we fail to collect all the “fantastic 8”, we see ourselves more tired, lacking focus or not sleeping so well. I’m not talking about Pokemon here, but about food! I hope you’re still following… (no, we don’t eat Pokemons either…)

We need to vary our sources of proteins, big time! Let’s not focus on animal prot’ only, and invite the other sources to our feasts so we get a nice 50/50 ratio going on. As you know, we’re going way too heavy on the meat side of the equation.

alexander-mils-instagram-com-alexandermils-132949-unsplash.jpg

So, what’s to change on my side ?

For a month, instead of snacking on crappy food, try snacking on chicken with hummus. ;) Get some eggs daily, whether it is for breakfast or diner, and you’ll start feeling better mentally and physically.

rachel-park-366508-unsplash.jpg

If you like this post, FOLLOW, UPVOTES and RESTEEM this article, so you get to share some good vibes to the Steemit World, as well as receiving nuggets of life, wisdom and productivity strait when they come out!

IMG_58E0B46EE509-1.jpeg)

Until next time...

The French Londoner

(sources : unsplash.com)

P.S. : Here is a little list, in case you missed out on some of the good stuff :

MY LATEST POSTS :

Check out our latest post right here :
🍰 The Sweet Escapes of the @frenchlondoner - ep.1
📊 The @frenchlondoner productivity hacks - #1
🍎 Back to Food Basics - Breakfast

Sort:  

Well done, great work!
I liked .. wonderful information from you
Thanks for sharing

Good

I really like meat so I don't struggle getting enough protein but I want healthier options so I really like tofu and nuts and sometimes beans prepared in the right way for me.

That's the way to go @steemcleanse! It's all about balancing what's good for you with food you love. :)

Learning new thru this informative post, thank you so much.

You're welcome ;)

I switched from meat protein to plant based protein after watching some Netflix documentaries.

Great article. Just followed you. Keep it going!

It's good to know what one eats during a busy day and how we can improve the quality of our meals.

Anything is possible, even for the busiest people there is. It's all down to your own willpower in the end. :) Check this out : I had chicken for snack at 10am at my desk yesterday ...

Chicken for snack at 10a.m? Wow. If I can get eating an apple and some nuts at this time, I would feel already like a champ :)

I also thought Protein is going majorly in meats too, this is so enlightened, am not scared of taking protein anymore cos some people are claiming here that it leads to Kidney stone or something, have you heard of that?

Like everything @grandiosae, when it comes to food, quality is always better than quantity.Watch out what you put in your system. Do your homework about supplementation, the different brands and products, and get advice from an expert. I'm glad you learned something from this post. :)

Very informative! Thank you

I think your publication is excellent, we all need a balanced diet, with a high content of fibers and proteins to carry out our daily tasks. I love your post. I support you.
I would be pleased to have your help in my publications. Thank you.

Thank you so much @olgaparica for your kind words. Let me know how I can help you with your posts and I sure will if I can. :)

Thank you, I would say that if possible you will visit my profile, read my publications, vote or follow me if you like ... I would do the same., Comment .. I am finally starting and it is a lot of work to go and for that we need of all ... It is my humble opinion. Kisses.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59504.00
ETH 2984.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74