Getting freekeh

in #food5 years ago

Hey steemit rockstars, hopefully you're all back on board after the recent DDos attack. That sort of sounds like I know what it actually is, but alas, I have no idea. Anyway, it disrupted me a little although I went over to SteemPeak and rolled on from there. No worries mate!

Anyway, I thought I'd share a little dish I enjoyed last night with my she's-way-too-good-for-me wife, Faith.. It's a very simple dish with little in the way of preparation, just some cutting and you're pretty much done.

What you're looking at is the result of some cutting, chopping and some throwing it all together and I have to say...It was pretty scrumptious. I have no clue if it's vegan or keto or any of that bullshit, but what I do know is that it's 100% awesome!

Ingredients: Cranberries, pistachio nuts, cauliflower, freekeh, wallnuts, pomegranate seeds, baby spinach leaves and mint. Oh, a (very) little good quality balsamic and a squeeze of lemon or lime. (Just make up the quantities for yourself, there's no rules here!)

Method: Cut it all up, throw into a bowl. Finish off with a little balsamic and lemon, toss and serve.

Yes, I know, it's quite complicated but you'll have to trust me that it's worth the effort. The sweetness from the cranberries balances the acidity of the balsamic/lemon combination and the crunch provided by the nuts adds some interest. It feels like a robust meal due to the freaky freekah but still feels light. It's healthy meal made fun by that little pop of pomegranate every so often and seems refreshing on the palate; The mint and lemon helps to do that I think.

We had it as our meal, just by itself, although it would make a nice side to some grilled fish or chicken I think as well. I'd like to tell you that the glass in the top right of image is iced water as that would fit quite nicely into the healthy theme of the food although...Well, it's a gin and tonic. A nice light white wine would go with this meal if you're a wine person and if not well...Doesn't really matter what you drink with it really. Life shouldn't be that complicated!

So there you go, a quick, healthy little meal that is very easy to prepare. I picked up all of the ingredients at our local Woolworths supermarket so I assume most of you should be able to get them as well. I was a little skeptical of the combination when I first heard about it but decided to get freekeh and step out of my comfort zone just a little. If you're an avid salad-consumer, and like to eat fresh then you better get your lips around this salad and get a little freekeh!

A nice variation may be some feta cheese crumbled through or maybe even some strips of grilled haloumi cheese on top. I suppose if one was to get totally freaky with their freekeh some grilled chicken strips could be added to the salad as well. I think when someone is going full-freekeh the skies the limit as to the freekeh-ness of the freak! Anything goes with this salad ladies and gentlemen. Get on it.

Sort:  

I get hungry from seeing this picture. Please stop!

did not know the Freekeh but since my wife is not that tolerant with gluten I guess its not coming in the house. sounds interesting though. Will try with something else as a substitute

Ah yes, I forgot about the non-gluten consumers. To be honest I don't know what's got gluten and what hasn't really as it's not a thing for me but I know one or two who cannot have it. I'm sure there will be a suitable substitute for the freekeh. You'll have to get freaky with something else...😆

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, looks good on the whole, yet... I don't understand people eating cauliflower voluntarily... or was she pointing a gun to your head!?
Sounds way better with the chicken...

Haha, no gun to my head...She doesn't have access to my gun safes fortunately!

I actually like cauliflower. Eat it raw a few times a week. I've always liked it. Yeah, chicken would make that salad awesome but I wanted to try it as is first. It was a winner.

Posted using Partiko Android

Looks like a great meal! We have allergies at home so I don’t get a number of those ingredients in my diet unless I am traveling! Love the mix of nuts and berries!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.440 which ranks you at #2192 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 4 places in the last three days (old rank 2196).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 179 contributions, your post is ranked at #40.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94