Live action: Dessert test dummy

in #food5 years ago

Today I took some time off work to go and visit a good mate of mine at his workplace. We're planning a massive bank heist so try and get together regularly to plan out the job and getaway details...OK, that's not really true. I just went over to say g'day and see what was cooking. I use the word cooking because he's a chef and spends most of his waking hours doing so. Makes sense I guess. He's the last sort of person you'd pick for a chef but he's actually a very good one.

Today is his day off although I knew he had planned to go into the kitchen to work on some new ideas. It seemed like a totally legit time to visit him as I figured if I timed my run just right I'd score a taste of something. My cunning plan worked out perfectly.

We chatted for a bit about stuff, mainly guns and an upcoming nighttime shoot we are doing, and all the while he was chopping, dicing, slicing, grinding and basically doing the things you'd expect a chef to do. I'm not sure how he managed to chat with me and chop so fast without losing a finger but he did.

After many hints and a few jabs in the ribs from me he finally decided to find me something to eat. I was hoping for something savoury as it's mid-morning but he ended up whipping up this dessert for me; Probably left-overs from the dinner service last night. It's some sort of chocolate pudding/cake thing with a molten chocolate centre. It's warm inside, or was whilst I was eating it, and was super-gooey and tasty. He served it with strawberry icecream and the plate was sprinkled with some sort of crunchy biscuit-stuff. He told me the name of it but I didn't listen. The red garnish thing was made from coloured sugar. It all looks pretty good right? It was!

I'm always happy to be a food-test-dummy for him to test his creations out on and today I gave him an 8 out of 10 for his efforts. The dessert was very nice but I think the strawberry icecream was wrong...Should have been vanilla or caramel...As if I would have any clue though! He said strawberry works and after I called him a dick-head we agreed to disagree. I'm lucky to have a few very close mates and whilst we pick on each other a lot we always have each others' back. He didn't mind me calling him a dick...I can't repeat what he called me...All in jest of course. It was a nice little break from my working week which has been super-productive and super-busy and I'm glad I dropped in to catch up.

Anyway, that's the end of live action for now. To be honest I'm writing this post-action, about 15 minutes after leaving my mates kitchen, so it's not technically live but it was only 15 minutes ago so live enough I guess.

Have a great Thursday everyone. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

I agree with him, if that's what I think it is (don't ask me what it is though I won't remember I just eat XP) strawberry works fine (though like you I prefer vanilla which is the safe boring option and maybe why he went with something else, the only reason I preferred something else is because I don't really like strawberry ice cream).

Also mid morning is an awesom time for dessert XD

I've got one of those friends too, last person you'd expect to be a lawyer XD

I know right? Is there a bad time for dessert? Me no think so. 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah that looks good. Like a coral reef on a sea bed. Too early for desert though; I'm all about the savoury.

Yeah, I wanted something of a more savoury nature...Maybe next time...And there will be a next time. 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

It must be great having a chef use you as a guinea pig! I would probably get too fat so there is a reason why I am not so lucky! Great plate presentation!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well, it's a tough job but someone has to do it...(Actually not that tough at all!) 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.411 which ranks you at #2220 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 2218).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 241 contributions, your post is ranked at #26.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 15.88% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 16 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86