Three of my favourite things combine

in #food5 years ago

Life can be hard sometimes and we don't always get what we want. I'm at peace with that. I mean, if we always got what we wanted would we appreciate those things as much? I don't think so. The enjoyment that comes from attaining something seemingly elusive or unreachable is one of the great pleasures in life and in possessing that thing, finally, comes great satisfaction and a deep respect for it. That's my opinion anyway.

So, having said the above, you can imagine the satisfaction I felt when three of my favourite things landed in my life like a gift from the gods. I say gods however it was a gift that came from my wife Faith and Arnott's, so not gods at all. Thank you guys, I'm so happy.

Now, it can't be said that I never had these things previously; Every Australian household must contain Vegemite. It's actually the law here in Australia and there are severe penalties for breaking it. So I had Vegemite. The second element is cheese. Who doesn't like cheese right? I've had plenty of it too, on pizza, cheesey toast, on pasta, with wine and crackers, baked on the top of tuna mornay, scolloped potatoes and lasagne and literally hundreds of other ways. So yes, I have had cheese. The last element is Australia...Naturally I have that too. It's quite literally mine!

What I haven't had though is all three combined and thanks to Arnott's and my wife I have recently attained all three combined in the form of Vegemite and cheese Australia-shaped shapes. You can see the picture of them below.

I ate a half-box of these delectable treats the other day and...OK, OK, maybe I had a little more than a half-box...But back to my blog now...

...So I ate some and found them to be pretty damned good. I mean would you expect anything less from an Australia-shaped-Vegemite and cheese-flavoured snack? Now, I know many of you may not be able to get these delectable snacks in your neck of the woods so it sucks to be you however just maybe ,if you ask nicely and have a mailing address, I'll send you some huh?

Whilst eating my snacks I had a pretty interesting thought...I figured that a small improvement could be made despite them being awesome already...More cheese. Yeah I know right? I added cheese! Crazy. It was bloody good too.

So, after almost 49 years of patiently waiting for three of my favourite things to combine in one tasty treat I have received that which formerly seemed elusive and life's pretty damned good. Sure, I've eaten Vegemite and cheese combined before, but not cut into the shape of Australia. Does life get any better? Oh, for those who live in Tasmania, yes I know your state has been left of the snack...But then it gets left off many depictions of the map of Australia so you'll be used to it I'm sure. No harm done. Don't let it dissuade you from trying these little bad-boys as I think you'll be impressed.

With Australia Day coming up on the 26th of January it's timely that these snacks get released right now. I mean what could be more appropriate than Australia-shaped Vegemite-flavoured food on Australia Day?! ...Even though formerly Aussie-owned Arnott's is now owned in America. (by Campbells Soup Company actually.) Hmm...Typical.

Sort:  

If you find a map of Tassie in one of the boxes, send it back for a full refund.

Crude Matt Clarke... but funny.

Maps aside... this Knight is surprised that the Tasmanians aren't complaining that their State hasn't been included in the biscuit. 'A token disclosure on the box is nowhere near good enough.'

Posted using Partiko Android

Maybe they're still on their way to the telephone booth. I heard there is one somewhere near Hobart.

Posted using Partiko Android

Now now play nice.

Posted using Partiko Android

😋😉

Posted using Partiko Android

If I don't eat it I probably will.

Posted using Partiko Android

My partner still considers it a crime that he’s the only one in the house that likes vegemite, the rest of us can’t stand the smell of it 🤣 are there Tasmania pieces too?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Some people don't like Vegemite...I don't get it. What's not to like?

In our case, the taste, smell or some combination thereof 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

Maybe will just have to make some Tassie shaped ones to.

Posted using Partiko Android

I bought a couple of packets of these today, and the entirety of one of the packets didn't last the journey home they were so good.

;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha...Well, at least you have one left...Or is it only half of one now? 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.408 which ranks you at #2208 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 346 contributions, your post is ranked at #42.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Corporate mobsters always win and ruin shit in the end. Hope it stays so delectable for ya. lol

You got a 39.93% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 12 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01