Three second rule: Know when to deploy and when not

in #food5 years ago

I decided, a few days ago, to bring my lunch to work rather than buy it every day in a bid to save some additional money for silver and crypto purchases and today was the day that strategy was deploying for the very first time. I brought along some crusty bread rolls stuffed with cheddar cheese, gypsy ham and seeded mustard...Yes, I know. Legit. Can't wait for lunch time!

I'd had a great Monday morning and around 1300 made my way to the kitchen at the office for my lunch. On de-lunch-boxing my bread rolls I knew I was on a winner and as they toasted in the sandwich-press-toaster-thing in the office kitchen I began to marvel at my brilliant idea. A few brief minutes later my lunch was ready...Melted cheese, crusty-toasted bread nicely warmed and an aromatic smell of the ham-cheese-mustard combination assaulting my senses and begging to be eaten! Legit.


I plated up my toasted bread-roll-goodness although was unable to find a large plate so had them stacked precariously one over the other on a small one. Big mistake. I turned to find a seat at the table and just then someone called over to me and when I turned to the sound...Yep, toasted hammy, cheesy, mustardy rolls spilled onto the floor and whilst my world immediately lapsed into slow motion as they tumbled end over end ever-downwards I was unable to save them...They crashed splatted to the floor in a mess of hammy, cheese, mustardy, toasty goodness...One had the decency to stay together but the other simply exploded on impact.


Needless to say my mind went straight to the three second rule as I stood there contemplating the option of saving them - re-plating and eating them...But no, I erred on the side of prudence and ended up throwing them away. The rest of the day continued downhill from there, mainly because of my sulking over my toasted sandwiches.

I'm going to have another go tomorrow and will apply the lessons learned through today's failure; Get a bigger plate and ignore people who call out to me when I have more important things to be concerned with; My lunch. I'm going with a focaccia roll tomorrow; Provolone cheese, hot salami, roma tomato's and kalamata olives toasted to perfection...I know, I'll be careful...Don't want to lose that one!

Life is sometimes imperfect. I know it and hardly need reminders however today I got just that reminder. Life often twists and turns and throws up challenges like today's lunch break, and it's how we deal with them that really matters. Sometimes the three second rule applies; We can dust it off and move on, and sometimes not. Knowing when to apply it and when not to is an important skill...Especially where

I'm pretty sure todays tragic lunch debacle will make tomorrows success feel all the more enjoyable and tasty. After all, it's the bad times that make the good feel better!

I hope your Monday rolled better than mine although mine ended pretty nice as I had a nice video chat with @smallsteps and @momone so that made me forget my terrible sandwich experience. Life goes on and smallsteps has a way of bringing a smile to my face no matter what. I don't mind a setback or two in life, it keeps me sharp and on point...Although I hope lunch time setbacks don't come knocking again anytime soon.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default
Discord: @galenkp#9209 🇦🇺

im src

Sort:  

What a dramatic story you wove of your sad lost lunch! I hope your sandwich survives better tomorrow!

I have to tell you, after your snake post the other day, I went out to check on the brush goats and while walking back to the car I saw two snakes hanging out in the grass. They slithered away as I approached, but they actually startled me. I saw another snake while checking on the other herd. I don't see them very often, and to see three (in two locations) the day after you posted about your scary critters was a little odd. You might have ruined snakes for me! Even though these were not poisonous, I recoiled a little from them. I'm sure I'll recover, but I thought you would be amused.

Lunch, or lack of it, is a serious matter to be written about dramatically. I'll be a day older tomorrow and that's one lunch I'll never be able to make up!

Yeah, snakes pretty much suck. I don't like them and nothing could make me like them...Unless they're those jelly one coated in chocolate. Those snakes kick ass! Follow link below.

https://robernmenz.com.au/product/view/137?cat=0

Made just around the corner from my office. :)

!giphy chuckle

Posted using Partiko iOS

Eat it straight off the sandwich press. You'll burn your mouth up pretty bad; but that's the price we pay for greatness.

I have learned my lesson...Now to deploy those lessons at lunch time today...

Yes if we never did experience bad times we would not appreciate things when they are actually good. Hope you have success with lunch tomorrow 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, I'm focusing on an excellent lunch break tomorrow and hope to deploy an expertly prepared, non-dropped-on-the-ground, sandwich straight into my gob.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

In addition to the 3 (or 5) second rule, I apply the <insesrt-name-here> rule (guideline) that is dependent on what I have dropped and where it was dropped.

Wet, sticky stuff like cheese, meat, etc don't get much choice. If they fall on the floor, I probably won't eat them. They pick up crap IMMEDIATELY upon nearing the floor.

Hard substances, which include bread and pre-cooked pasta, brings in the where-it-was-dropped clause. This one largely depends on how clean I think the surface contacted is.

And, as always, there are exceptions to these.

Sorry about your lunch. :(

I'm a big fan of the 3 or 5 second rule and deploy it on many occasions. I can recall dropping a just-cooked stake when I was out camping once...In the dirt. A rinse off with some water and boom, she'll be right! No way I'm eating something off the kitchen floor at work though. :)

Today's lunch deployed like clockwork.

Aye, if something hits the kitchen floor at work it is "burn it with fire" time.

Ahh unfortunate with the sandwiches! You know how to make them though they sound delicious 😆

Better luck next round and I guess we wait for the post about the crypto or metal you bought with saved lunch money 🙃

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.590 which ranks you at #1912 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1913).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 154 contributions, your post is ranked at #39.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Man those things look so good, hope some trash dog got treated lol.

hope some trash dog got treated

Someone at the office probably pulled them from the bin and smashed them down...3-minute rule Lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63849.10
ETH 3132.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89