What's palatable and what's not...

in #food6 years ago

I'm not fussy, generally. I'm pretty easy going about most things actually...Well, I hate terrorists, child-molesters and those who prey on women and am certainly not easy-going about those things however in general I have a reasonable tolerance to things that might not go my way, be perfect or simply annoying.

When it comes to food I'm the same. Sure, no one likes to eat bad food but in the main if food isn't quite perfect I don't immediately send it back, and certainly won't judge a food outlet based on only one experience. Mostly.

I've eaten at some amazing places...A restaurant beside Lago di Como at Bellagio, Lombardy (Italy), another in Monte Carlo and Chianti in my home city of Adelaide...Among many many more. Of course, I don't always eat in restaurants...In fact that's more the exception than the rule. My most memorable meals have been gathered at a market and eaten beside the Seine in Paris, sitting on a low stone wall on the Cote d'azure, beside the road in Tuscany...And of course eaten out of a packet whilst 900m above sea-level after a hike in the Flinders Ranges or other such remote area. I guess what I'm trying to say is that for me the experience is not really about the food, although my body needs it to sustain itself. It's more about the mood, location, tone and certainly the company that food is shared with. Average, or even bad food, can be palatable in the right circumstances.

The image you see here was breakfast a couple of weeks ago. I know, it looks like a funny breakfast right? Well, I thought the same however felt adventurous so decided to give it a try. It's a couple of soft-poached eggs sitting on a thick and rich red sauce consisting of tomato's, onions, garlic, chorizo and I assume herbs and stuff. It's been poured over a bed of baby spinach leaves and bocconcini cheese. It was served with grilled (crusty) bread. OK, so I know it might not look all that appetising however I can assure you it was pretty damned awesome. There was just something about the way the flavours combined together and the crunch of the crusty toast...Mmm yum. But what if it was shit?

I've seen food sent back because it was too salty, (I've actually done that myself), because the steak was not cooked to order or indeed because the wrong food arrived at the table in the first place; There's many reasons food needs to be sent back. However it's how a person does this that can make a difference. I don't see a lot of point in being rude of course. I mean all that's going to do is upset people...And those same upset people are back in the kitchen with a plate of food you intend to eat...Maybe being nice is a better strategy.

I believe we are all entitled to common courtesy, and therefore all obligated to deliver it. It's not fair to expect it but not give it I think. Things go wrong in life; Food get's prepared incorrectly. It happens. It can be a negative experience for everyone concerned, or it can simply be incorrectly prepared food and an opportunity to deploy some of that courtesy I mentioned above. It's all about choices I suppose.

Oh, before I go...One of the best meals I ever had was beside the Grand Canal at Versailles, France. We were riding bikes and had stopped in at a fresh food market a short distance away to pick up some stuff for lunch. We had cold cuts, some paté, cheeses, olives, crusty bread and of course a couple of little cakes for after. We packed it all up in a backpack brought along for that exact purpose and rode off and into the Versailles Palace grounds. It's a big place and the best way to see it all is by bike. After a little riding we settled beside the Grand Canal and had our picnic. It was around October so the leaves were falling and the weather was cool. Simply perfect. What did the food taste like? I can't remember...How I felt though, in that moment, I'll always remember.

The images below show my partner shopping at the markets and then riding in the Versailles Palace grounds. (I was ride-photographing...Yes, I almost crashed.)

Sort:  

I like to start the day with fried mushrooms.
Breakfast of champignons.
Yes, I went there; yes it's on the chain now forever.
No, I'm not sorry.

Dad jokes are the best...

Man, I can barely have a biscuit in the morning, let alone that....but hey, if you liked it....:)
I'm not fussy over restaurants either. I'm as happy having a bite at the corner store as I am having dinner at the fanciest joint in town (not that anyone takes me there...sniff).

Well, I called it breakfast as it was the first meal of the day, but it was 11:30am! 😂

You mean that's not breakfast time?? :P

Baby spinach for breakfast!? No way 😨

Made an interesting change from bacon and eggs...

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.209 which ranks you at #2775 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 20 places in the last three days (old rank 2755).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 223 contributions, your post is ranked at #108.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 46.31% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87