Arrowroot Halwa!! 😋

in #food5 years ago (edited)

Hi Guys... As I promised you I am here with a yummy tasty sweet dish, which we call Arrowroot Halwa...

0h3hoabpd7.jpg

It's a easy and quick recipe, and can be made in just 10 to 15 minutes!!

To start - We need...

Arrowroot powder - 1 cup.
Sugar - one and a half cup.
Pure Ghee - 1 cup.
Water - 3 cups
Food color - 1pinch (I used turmeric powder to give yellow color, as I don't like to use any artificial colors)
Cardamoms - 4 to 5.
Dry fruits - 1/4 cup.

xx4u3dd8a2.jpg

kxj3n4yj2z.jpg

kl396rgkbw.jpg

Method...
Soak 1 cup of arrowroot powder in 3 cups of water for one to two hours.

Now... Using fingers, mix this soaked powder dough, so that the thick starch in the bottom gets mixed well with water, without any lumps.

Take a thick bottom pan, take half cup ghee and pour this powder dough, add sugar, cardamom powder, (I used black cardamom), food color and on medium flame keep stirring continuously. Within 5 minutes it starts thickening.

Now lower the flame, add the remaining ghee and dry fruits and again stir for 2 to 3 minutes till it comes to the Halwa consistency.

zt223imxxv.jpg

h95s2x4448.jpg

rvboplchmy.jpg

Shift to a plate smeared with a thin layer of ghee and allow to cool. Refrigerate for half an hour and then cut into desired shape!!...

The yummy tasty nutritious Arrowroot Halwa is ready to serve...

h7br8fx47c.jpg

Note- We can cut this Halwa only after it comes to room temperature. Because, Until then it sticks to the knife!

Hope you liked this post.
Much love from Mangalore, @geetharao...

Sort:  

It looks delicious kind of like Barfi but I wanted to ask what Arrowroot is as I don't know that.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @arunava... First of all Thank you so much for reading my blog. Arrowroot is the English name of Ara Rot (in Hindi). To know what it is, please refer my yesterday's blog...

I feel so dumb now. We call it Ool in Bengali, my Mom makes Sabji's out of it. It really calms the Stomach.

I don't know about making sabji. But this is not Arbi, which we call in North India. Arbi and Ara rot is entirely different... :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I just did a quick Search on Google and it seems it is indeed different. It really looks similar though.

I found out other Local Names of ArrowRoot while looking for this.

image.png
It seems in Bengali it's called Shotti which I have never heard.

Halwa my febret yummy yummy.
Thanks for sharing.

Posted using Partiko Android

It is really easy to prepare, and looks very appetizing. Thanks for the recipe

i love all kinds of halwa and this looks so delicious ma'am ... from the pics itself dish appears so tempting :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13