Hi Wait.... Don't Throw Away These Seeds!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Yes, It's the Jackfruit' season everywhere now, mainly here in India for us... :) But many of us, even me ;)..., after eating the pulp, never mind throwing away the seeds!!.

image

A recent article in a local news paper grabbed my attention to this point that these seeds are a rich source of Vitamin, Iron and other vital micronutrients and are even being used in the making of baby foods!!.

image

image

Then I started recollecting the memories of my childhood. Yes!, my Mom and my Grandma were not throwing away these seeds and they used to make an upma with it, which we children used to like... They were also mixing it with other veggies while making different curries!!.

image

image

So after reading that article, I too started keeping the seeds after cleaning them properly for preserving... :).

Now let's have a talk about the goodness of these seeds...

(I am only writing a few main things I came to know from my Mom and from web. But actually these seeds are a source of innumerable good qualities...)

It's a rich source of Iron, Protein and Vitamin A, and can help in curing Cataract!

It can help in curing Mental stress.

It helps to prevent Anaemia.

Prevents indigestion, and can be used to treat constipation.

Helpful in building muscles, because of high protein factor.

It boosts energy and helps to keep healthy eye sight!

It's good for the health of hair, skin and can be used in face packs!

So my dear Friends, When you bring Jackfruit next time, after eating the pulp, please don't throw away the seeds. Instead keep them cleanig properly, and use them in your food in some way.

image

With much love and regards from Mangalore, @geetharao...

Sort:  

Nice post on jackfruit seeds, actually I don't like pulp. I ate roasted seeds; it can be cooked with Dal also.

Hi Sir @hemantasarmah... I didn't had the idea of roasting so far. Thanks for that...
And Sir... Actually the pulp of a full riped fruit is very tasty!

wow,really very wonderfull and delicious food.today i have got new idea of new dish.i am of course trying this food at my home.thanks to sharing for your great idea with us.my friend.. @geetharao

Thanks Ma'am for sharing information about seeds of Jack fruits, Few years back pulps of Jack Fruits are one of my favourite but for now it is easy to get and now I m not like much to eat pulps.
And in my Childhood I seen that my Mom used to Cook it with Potato and that were too testy..

Keeping seeds is always a good idea. :)

I think it is #Jack-fruit seeds. And I agree with your title "Don't Throw Away These Seeds" #Coz this seeds is very healthy, delicious and beneficial such as, Rich souce of vitamin, minerals, phytonutrients, carbohydrate, electrolytes, fiber, fat and protein. This fruit also contains calorie but no cholesterol or saturated fats.

Great idea @geetharao,thank you so much for sharing.

very yammy tasty food.

Great post and I definitely didn’t know that about jackfruit seeds - such little health monsters ☺️ I will save them next time!

Great one you have inspired me a lot @geetharao and made me to think a lot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97