My Food Stamp/Elon Musk Meal Challenge - Eating on $2 Per Day Week 3 Days 3 & 4

in #food7 years ago (edited)

SNAP FOOD CHALLENGE.png

What I Eat For Around $2 Per Day


For the past 2 1/2 weeks, I have challenged myself to each for just $29 per day. After the first week, I had spent only $13.34.

Upon further investigation, I learned of the 'Elon Musk' challenge. That is to live off of just $2 per day in food costs. You see, early in Musk's life when he was around 17 he thought he might see if he could eat for just $1 per day. He reasoned that $30 per month would be easy to make under any circumstances, and so he could afford to work on his business even if income was non-existent

Now, nearly 30 years later, that $1 has been inflated to $2. So, can people live off of just $2 per day in food costs in America? Sure, you could just eat basic noodles and butter. I will try to do it with a decent variety and health factor. It won't be organic, free-range foods, but just something decent enough.

For my challenge, I have created additional rules to simulate the situation that people on SNAP benefits might be in.

  • I can only shop at the 99 Cents Only store. This is to simulate being in a 'food desert' - an area that lacks traditional grocery stores.
  • I can't use my microwave or oven to cook. Some people might lack a fully functioning kitchen.
  • I started from absolute scratch. Not even the salt and pepper I had in my kitchen was usable.
  • Additionally, I created a hardship that someone on food benefits might find themselves - at the end of week 2, my EBT was not reloaded due to a government error. So for this last week, I added no food besides two key limes I found on the street.

  • WEEK 3 DAY 3 BREAKFAST - $0.34


    W3D3 Breakfast.jpg

    Just a simple brown rice and two scrambled eggs meal. So very filling though.


    LUNCH - $0.70


    W3D3 Lunch.jpg

    Just another portion of the bacon and asparagus spaetzle with a cookie.


    DINNER - $1.21


    W3D3 Dinner.jpg

    This was one of my most favorite meals this week. A nice spaghetti in a tomato sauce with onion, garlic, mushrooms, Mexican squash, diced tomatoes, and Braunschweiger liverwurst.


    WEEK 3 DAY 4 BREAKFAST - $0.22


    W3D4 Breakfast.jpg

    I am still using up the batch of banana pancake batter I made on Monday. These are very cheap but they fill me up until lunch, so they do the job!


    LUNCH - $0.87


    W3D4 Lunch.jpg

    This is actually half the spaghetti from last night and half the spaetzle. I had a little extra of each, but not enough for a full meal. To me, it was quite natural to just throw them together as one! They did work nicely together. Plus, a nice cookie. :D


    DINNER - $0.80


    W3D4 Dinner.jpg

    Brown rice and sardines with diced Mexican squash, garlic, tomato, and onions in a tomato sauce. Also milk and cookie.

    I'm not much of a fish person, but this was pretty good and filling! And cheap!


    Week 3 day 1 total: $2.25

    Week 3 day 2 total: $1.89

    Week 3 running total: $8.54

    Sort:  

    wonderful information to help people save money. I will restreem; thank you for voting for my post about not wasting food.

    Helping the disadvantaged, FTW!

    Hey @sharingsociety - thank you so much!

    You are still doing great! Excellent meals. If you squeeze lemon on canned sardines, they get a much better flavor in my opinion. I eat sardines at least once a week for the health reasons but they certainly help by being inexpensive :)

    I ate them all up already! They were pretty decent in the tomato sauce tgey came in plus a bit of extra pasta sauce.

    I'm all done with this challenge now. I think I nailed it as good as anyone. Right now I am sitting on a plane in LAX waiting for taxi out - steemfest here I come. (If the plane leaves the ground!)

    I am gladdened that you are still sticking to your challenge.
    I also look forward to what you will do one you finish this challenge.
    How will your meals look then?

    Well, the very next day I head out to go to SteemFest! So I suspect they will look Portuguese'y :P

    That!... was not what I was expecting. But, in hindsight, that is exactly what I should have expected.

    Enjoy ^_^

    Enjoy Steemfest! And don't forget to write a report about what you learned there :-)

    Where did you get all those cookies? I bet they are just a giveaway, you eat them almost every meal :D

    Hey, when you have simple meals the little taste of cookie and chocolate is something to look forward to!

    I get these shortbread striped cookies from the 99 Cents Only store, they cost about 3 cents per cookie. I eat them when I am not on this challenge too. They are a good bargain.

    I swear dieting and camping are the best ways to make you appreciate normal food and your apartment again.

    Good to see you're holding strong with the challenge. Those pancakes look lovely i think that i will have to try them out for myself.

    Heck, if you have syrup they would be much better. I am sure you will enjoy the banana pancakes anyways.

    Your first dinner out with steemians in Lisbon will cost more than a week's challenge :-)

    Good thing I've been saving these past three weeks then! :D

    Mate love your stuff and your views on the world. Love the take on food and comparison how much we can save in general and still eat healthy!

    You from Australia?

    CryptoZen

    Hey CryptoZen, thanks for the kind words. I like to challenge myself and this was a fun challenge that required a bit of willpower.

    I am American and live in Arizona currently.

    @getonthetrain I hope you enjoy STEEMFEST. Make sure you eat well on your trip. You deserve the TREAT in Portugal.

    Thanks, @stokjockey - I'll keep you guys supplied with pics and comments as best I can.

    Looking forward to it!

    The food look so good, I will have to make myself some pan cakes tmr morning :)

    You are one of a kind, people like you are scarce

    Alright, that I am!

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.29
    TRX 0.12
    JST 0.032
    BTC 63208.95
    ETH 3084.44
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 3.82