For the Love of Wheat

in #food5 years ago

Some villain in my neighborhood ordered pizza with a very strong garlic bread smell that wafted through the streets. It was cheap pizza. The sort that isn’t actually all that good, but if you grew up eating it, the taste has burrowed itself somewhere deep in the mind. It has been there so long it belongs. I was taking a leisurely evening walk when I smelled it. I squinted my eyes at the suspected house, as the taste memory filtered into my consciousness, creating a craving.

IMG_20180922_000925.jpg

I’m not exactly your typical American. I hate football. I don’t watch TV. McDonald’s stopped being a part of my life fifteen years ago. But, I did have something in common with my fellow Americans: wheat. God do I love wheat. I did have it in common. I lost my American lifestyle two weeks ago.

I’m being dramatic. It isn’t gone forever. I think. I’m waiting thirty days to see if eating a gluten free diet helps with some health issues. I’ve been doing so good…until that villain in my neighborhood with the pizza delivery magnet on their fridge.

Surprisingly, I can live without bread. But pizza—no one should live without pizza. No American, anyway. Donuts. God I love donuts. I want to wrap my lips around a chocolate cake donut—nice and dense, but not too dense, sort of spongy, but not too spongy. Just right, like only wheat can do.

IMG_20181126_232000.jpg

I took the kids to our local big box store. We hadn’t been in a while. The kids got to ooh and ahh over all the toys set out for Christmas, putting ideas in their heads. The tot fantasized over many a Barbie—which fortunately can be acquired at the thrift store for 50 cents. She found a Ken doll with a man-bun and some very stylish looking clothes and announced “this is the papa.” I have my doubts. Ken isn’t ready for fatherhood—he would definitely get puke on his cacti, and I get the feeling he’s got an eye for every piece of Barbie plastic that comes along. Anyway, I’m getting off track.

While I was at the local Walmart, I passed by the Subway they have inside. That’s when I knew the gluten deficiency was really starting to affect me. That off-smelling Subway bread that creates the image of one large scoop of preservatives being mixed in with the flour, then the dough left to soak up random odors from within a fridge—that shit smelled good. My god, I thought, how far I have fallen.

On the way home my mind drifted into fantasies. Pizza with a nice crispy crust that breaks with a crack when the teeth are sunk in, then requires a good twist with the jaw to get through the chewy center. Soft, voluptuous rolls dripping with butter, with the delicate, melt in your mouth texture. To bite that roll is to experience passion. Oh, and cookies. Real cookies—not that gummy rice flour stuff. Nice, wheat cookies, crunchy or soft—I don’t discriminate. The prefect combination of crunch and squish, as each bite of cookie is turned over by my tongue. I want them. I want them all, now.

I’m a fighter though. I’m not a quitter. I’ve invested too much now to walk away from this. I’ve been without my beloved wheat for two weeks, I can’t risk having to repeat this later, and sacrifice my sacrifice.

I just made cookies. Dark chocolate macadamia nut. Rice flour. It almost satisfied me.

IMG_20180702_232940.jpg

I’m going to curl up in bed and let my mind wonder. I’ll think up a satisfying thought:

Outside it will be nearly freezing. A draft of cold air will rush in as the door closes. I will curl up on the couch in the dark room, the glow of the Christmas tree warm and calming. The couch will be snug with a quilt over it, so that I can curl up in my bedclothes. The house will be silent, except for the slow, gentle tick of the grandfather clock. Tick, tock, like a rhythmic massage. And my only companion with me in this happy place will be a donut. A chocolate cake donut. And I will ravish that thing.

Damn it, I love wheat.

Sort:  

Eh... You do know you can make pizza without wheat, right? Also, now I'm hungry.

Not the same. I've used several alternatives. Just not the same.

Wheaties! Um naan bread oh man. Yeah huge fan of wheat too. Cakes, bread any variety, etc.

Good luck in your experiment. :)

Bagels, crackers, brownies, pie crust. Wheat bread, white bread, rye bread, breakfast bread...sigh

Thank you. Two more weeks. Just two more weeks.

It seems everything involves a trade-off - Deprivation and change of routine affect us when we're at our lowest - Stick with it for 30 days :)

It seems everything involves a trade-off - Deprivation and change of routine affect us when we're at our lowest - Stick with it for 30 days :)

I'm feeling better now. Less than two more weeks to go. Deep breath. I think I'm going to make it :)

Thanks for the kind words.

haha! Howdy ginnyannette! wow are you a dang alien or what? Hate football? No tv? Then how do you keep up with the Kardashians?? lol. Man oh man do I love two things more than anything and that's donuts and pizza! I kid you not, I'm like Homer Simpson when it comes to donuts! Well, I don't know if you've ever watched that show but he would do anything for donuts.

Yeah when we went to our Keto eating plan with zero gluten it sucked big time and the alternatives can never replace wheat but you get used to them and then finally start to like them. Eventually they'll get it figured out and it will be just as good. Lots of people working on it because it's becoming such a large market share.

I think to everyone that comes to my house, we pretty much are aliens. People are always like, "Where's your TV?" Homer Simpson is a distant figure of my childhood, but I do seem to remember something about him and donuts.

I believe you, it does get easier. I'm at almost three weeks. For someone that has existed on calories 50% from wheat for the bulk of my life, I'm really proud of myself. The only thing I miss is pizza, but cauliflower crust isn't half bad.

well you are very wise and very disciplined. Also, after a couple of months we started doing cheat days every other week and that's when we do the real pizza and that's fine every once in a while. I live for those days! lol.

That's what I'm thinking I'm going to do. I suspect I fit into that "sensitive" category, wherein the wheat just messes with me a bit, especially with a large amount consumed. I think once I get through this trial time I may stick with it, and do cheat days too. I just can't imagine never having real pizza again.

haha! like ..would life really be worth living without pizza? that type of thinking? lol. well it's fine to cheat with anything that you don't have a serious reaction to and it looks like you're changing your diet before it gets to that point so you'll be fine. gluten causes so many problems that it just has to go for most of us as we get older, but not completely! lol.

In the meantime I'm going to keep checking out the alternatives and see if they can come up with something that doesn't taste fake!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99